Death By Chocolate V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
The first time I made this cake, it was much too dry. So, I doubled the amt.of butter, added an extra egg, and used a bit more sour cream. I also topped it with a bittersweet chocolate glaze and used half peanut-butter chips and half chocolate chips- magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Horrible! This cake was so dry that it was inedible. I brought it to a party and I was embarrassed. It ended up in the garbage. A waste of time and ingredients! Get this recipe off the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Way too dry. For a fabulous recipe--see "Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake" also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
For a low-fat recipe, I substituted 1/4 c. applesauce + 2 tsps. of oil for the butter and (blended) 1 c. 2% fat cottage cheese + 1 tbsp lemon juice + 2 tsp milk for the sour cream. I didn't read the reviews before about the driness, and just assumed it was the lower-fat substitutions. I still think the cake turned out great -- not "Death by Chocolate" but a lighter version that still hit the spot for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This had mixed reviews due to the crunchy crust it had. The inside was really moist, but the crust was munchy. This is a great cake for a dark chocolate lover vs a milk chocolate lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I should have read farther down the review list. I, too, believe this cake is way too dry! Furthermore, I don't know who can bake this for 60 minutes. I baked it for 45 minutes and it probably should only have baked for 40 minutes! I agree with another "rater" for this cake. It needs extra butter and sour cream. What a disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I thought this recipe was great! I read the reviews and made some changes. I doubled the butter, added a 1/2 c. of applesauce and added a little less flour than what the recipe called for. I also baked it for only 50 minutes. Very moist... everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was AMAZING! Well, let me explain something first. I didn't make it with sugar, I made it with Splenda For Baking, since I had people who were on diets and/or diabetic. I also used fat free sour cream. It was sooo delicious, and I got such compliments! I can't wait to try it with sugar and regular sour cream to see if it's better or not. I will definitely make this many times, and I have already had 2 people ask for the recipe. Buffy, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
We loved this cake! Taking suggestions from other cook's reviews,I used 3/4c-Smart Balance brand spread INSTEAD of butter; 2c-Raw Sugar (dissolved in the 1/2c water and added w/creamed spread); 3 Eggs; and 1+1/2c-sour cream. I served each slice w/freshly whipped cream and a shake of cinnamon. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My husband LOVES this cake! It lives up to its name. I tried following the recipe as it was written, but it seemed extremely thick. So, I added 1/4 c. butter and one egg (as suggested by other reviews). I then baked the cake for 1 hour and 10 minutes at 350 degrees. It turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States