Death By Chocolate V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was AMAZING! Well, let me explain something first. I didn't make it with sugar, I made it with Splenda For Baking, since I had people who were on diets and/or diabetic. I also used fat free sour cream. It was sooo delicious, and I got such compliments! I can't wait to try it with sugar and regular sour cream to see if it's better or not. I will definitely make this many times, and I have already had 2 people ask for the recipe. Buffy, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I thought this recipe was great! I read the reviews and made some changes. I doubled the butter, added a 1/2 c. of applesauce and added a little less flour than what the recipe called for. I also baked it for only 50 minutes. Very moist... everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I should have read farther down the review list. I, too, believe this cake is way too dry! Furthermore, I don't know who can bake this for 60 minutes. I baked it for 45 minutes and it probably should only have baked for 40 minutes! I agree with another "rater" for this cake. It needs extra butter and sour cream. What a disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This had mixed reviews due to the crunchy crust it had. The inside was really moist, but the crust was munchy. This is a great cake for a dark chocolate lover vs a milk chocolate lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
For a low-fat recipe, I substituted 1/4 c. applesauce + 2 tsps. of oil for the butter and (blended) 1 c. 2% fat cottage cheese + 1 tbsp lemon juice + 2 tsp milk for the sour cream. I didn't read the reviews before about the driness, and just assumed it was the lower-fat substitutions. I still think the cake turned out great -- not "Death by Chocolate" but a lighter version that still hit the spot for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Way too dry. For a fabulous recipe--see "Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake" also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Horrible! This cake was so dry that it was inedible. I brought it to a party and I was embarrassed. It ended up in the garbage. A waste of time and ingredients! Get this recipe off the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
The first time I made this cake, it was much too dry. So, I doubled the amt.of butter, added an extra egg, and used a bit more sour cream. I also topped it with a bittersweet chocolate glaze and used half peanut-butter chips and half chocolate chips- magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States