Death By Chocolate V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I thought that it was quite delicious. If I had the time I would definitely make it again. But I did add a little more sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
THIS CAKE WAS AMAZING! MY FREINDS AND FAMILY AND I HAD TO MAKE 2 MORE OF THEM BACAUSE IT WAS SOOOOO GOOD SO WE HAD 3 OF THESE CAKES!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made a few changes. 3/4 c butter, 1 1/2 c sour cream, 1 c water with 2 tbsp instant coffee dissolved in it. Whole the cake was baking, I combined 2 c semi sweet chocolate chips, 1 c heavy whipping cream, and 2 tsp vanilla in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on high for 2 mins. Whisk chocolate mixture together. Let stand about 10 mins and pour over the finished cake. Gorgeous and everyone that has tried it, says it is by far the very best cake they have ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I thought this recipe was great! I read the reviews and made some changes. I doubled the butter, added a 1/2 c. of applesauce and added a little less flour than what the recipe called for. I also baked it for only 50 minutes. Very moist... everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was AMAZING! Well, let me explain something first. I didn't make it with sugar, I made it with Splenda For Baking, since I had people who were on diets and/or diabetic. I also used fat free sour cream. It was sooo delicious, and I got such compliments! I can't wait to try it with sugar and regular sour cream to see if it's better or not. I will definitely make this many times, and I have already had 2 people ask for the recipe. Buffy, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This cake really could be deadly! After reading other people's reviews, which said that the cake was dry, I made the following modifications: -Used only 1 7/8 c. flour (if you don't have a 1/8 c. measure, use 3/4 c. plus 2 Tbsp.) -Used 3/4 c. cocoa powder -Used 1/2 c. butter -Added 1/2 c. applesauce Then when it was cool, I frosted it with the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze from this site--it was super delicious! It makes a great birthday cake! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I just realized I accidentally used a full cup of butter instead of just doubling the butter to 1/2c.! I also added an extra egg and subbed strong coffee instead of plain water. Even by quadrupling the butter and adding an egg, it turned out a hint dry. It also overflowed the bundt pan while baking and fell apart while trying to take it out of the pan (however, I was able to salvage it for the dinner party). Everyone at the party ate their entire piece of cake but no one said how great it was or asked for seconds. I'd probably try the recipe again (taking care to only double the butter!) and would definitely sub coffee for the water which definitely enhanced the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
It was a tasty cake, and chocolatey. Fairly easy to make (I didn't have the best sifter for the dry ingredients.) Given that it was made with sour cream, I expected it to be more moist than it was. I felt like I could taste the flour almost more than the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
We loved this cake! Taking suggestions from other cook's reviews,I used 3/4c-Smart Balance brand spread INSTEAD of butter; 2c-Raw Sugar (dissolved in the 1/2c water and added w/creamed spread); 3 Eggs; and 1+1/2c-sour cream. I served each slice w/freshly whipped cream and a shake of cinnamon. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Made some changes as suggested by others: double the butter (1/2 cup), double the water (1 cup), added 1 tsp. instant coffee to water, and had to substitute plain yogurt for sour cream, did not have chocolate chips. All in all, happy with the results and my family loved it. Frosted it with a thin buttercream, allowing it to run down the sides. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States