Death By Chocolate V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Way too dry. For a fabulous recipe--see "Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake" also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This cake really could be deadly! After reading other people's reviews, which said that the cake was dry, I made the following modifications: -Used only 1 7/8 c. flour (if you don't have a 1/8 c. measure, use 3/4 c. plus 2 Tbsp.) -Used 3/4 c. cocoa powder -Used 1/2 c. butter -Added 1/2 c. applesauce Then when it was cool, I frosted it with the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze from this site--it was super delicious! It makes a great birthday cake! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
The first time I made this cake, it was much too dry. So, I doubled the amt.of butter, added an extra egg, and used a bit more sour cream. I also topped it with a bittersweet chocolate glaze and used half peanut-butter chips and half chocolate chips- magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Horrible! This cake was so dry that it was inedible. I brought it to a party and I was embarrassed. It ended up in the garbage. A waste of time and ingredients! Get this recipe off the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I thought this recipe was great! I read the reviews and made some changes. I doubled the butter, added a 1/2 c. of applesauce and added a little less flour than what the recipe called for. I also baked it for only 50 minutes. Very moist... everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe requires 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/4 cup, 1 cup water with two or 3 teaspoons instant decaf coffee disolved in it instead of 1/2 cup plain water, and 2 cups semisweet MINI chips. Then it will be great!!! If you don't like coffee flavor, don't worry. It is not strong and just makes the chocolate taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
We loved this cake! Taking suggestions from other cook's reviews,I used 3/4c-Smart Balance brand spread INSTEAD of butter; 2c-Raw Sugar (dissolved in the 1/2c water and added w/creamed spread); 3 Eggs; and 1+1/2c-sour cream. I served each slice w/freshly whipped cream and a shake of cinnamon. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was AMAZING! Well, let me explain something first. I didn't make it with sugar, I made it with Splenda For Baking, since I had people who were on diets and/or diabetic. I also used fat free sour cream. It was sooo delicious, and I got such compliments! I can't wait to try it with sugar and regular sour cream to see if it's better or not. I will definitely make this many times, and I have already had 2 people ask for the recipe. Buffy, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I should have read farther down the review list. I, too, believe this cake is way too dry! Furthermore, I don't know who can bake this for 60 minutes. I baked it for 45 minutes and it probably should only have baked for 40 minutes! I agree with another "rater" for this cake. It needs extra butter and sour cream. What a disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Made some changes as suggested by others: double the butter (1/2 cup), double the water (1 cup), added 1 tsp. instant coffee to water, and had to substitute plain yogurt for sour cream, did not have chocolate chips. All in all, happy with the results and my family loved it. Frosted it with a thin buttercream, allowing it to run down the sides. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States