Death By Chocolate II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Outstanding! The compliments I got on this when I brought it to a Christmas Eve function only confirmed what I already knew from trying it myself: this IS the ULTIMATE dessert! I cut cake up into chunks and drizzled coffee liqueur and Godiva chocolate liqueur over them as I layered. I also used real whipped cream, sweetened with just a little confectioners sugar and vanilla extract. To add a little color, I drizzled a bit of strawberry dessert topping on top of the whipped cream layers. I did NOT leave the leftovers at the hostess's house, but it followed me everywhere until it was gone, the day after Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Holly A.
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I make this often for large get togethers and everyone loves it! I use Kahlua flavored syrup in the chocolate cake after it is baked and crumbled. I also skip the candy bars & almonds. I wipe the inside of the bowl with a paper towel after each layer to give a cleaner look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A big hit at my chocolate-loving girlfriend's birthday party! Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Another keeper. Serves a big crowd. 6 adults & 4 kids hardly put a dent in it! Easy to make - add your own favorites. I thought I was in trouble when I saw that I had purchased INSTANT pudding by mistake, but it turned out great! Such an attractive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Wow, this is sinfully good! I did a little scaling as the recipe makes a huge amount and I wanted to use my trifle bowl. I used 3 of the smaller boxes of pudding mix with 6 cups of milk. Instead of the frozen topping I made real whipped cream, using a pint of heavy cream and just a little sugar. I used only a little over half of the cake and could have done with a little less pudding too. The recipe does say to use a large punch bowl....their not kidding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is pretty well my Death by Chocolate recipe except I use Kahlua instead of coffee liqueur and Skor chocolate bars. I also add zest of one orange to pudding, add a layer of canned mandarine orange & top with mandarines. It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Yummy! I made this with oreo cookies because I didn't feel like hunting down the toffee bars and skipped the almonds because I topped it with the crushed cookies. This is so yummy! I almost tried butterfinger bars but chickened out. Don't know why, I think it would be hard to make this taste bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Makes a LOT. Very good. Did not use coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe for a get-together. I brought this dessert to a party last week; it was only on the table a minute when someone shouted out "who brought the 'bowl of sin'?!?" What higher recommendation could there possibly be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I LOVE THIS AND SO DID MY HOME EC TEACHER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elkin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States