Death By Caramel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These cookies were OK. Not really caramel though, they were more like labor intensive sugar cookies. We could not get the dough to roll out and ended up making balls and flattening them. The "caramel" sauce (which took 25 min) balanced out the bland cookie, but I would rather make an easy sugar cookie for the same tase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
The cookie were pretty bland. And the caramel was hard to work with. I could not spread it, so I had to heat it up again so I could spread it on the cookies. I made these for Halloween so I cut the cookies with a bat cookie cutter and then sprinkled the top of every other cookie with black sugar before baking them. Then I also added red food coloring to the caramel. They looked great when they were all done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
They take some work, but they are good, if you know what you're biting into! It is a special sort of treat. Reason for the 4 stars: The cookies were very crumbly once baked, and I made about twice as many as the recipe says - any larger and they would have been hard to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
These are sooo good, in Peru they are called Alfajores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The cookies themselves were nice, but who wants to stand there and stir the filling for 25 minutes straight? I actually had to cook mine for 45 minutes on medium heat before it took on any color. The filling also has a sharper taste than caramel, more like strong butterscotch, and I personally didn't like the flavor combined with the vanilla extract. I would make the cookie recipe again, but change the filling to 1 bag of caramels melted with 2 tbsp. water or cream. Easier and probably better-tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
NOPE!!! We didn't care for these at all!!!! Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
OH BOY, IF THIS IS DEATH BY CARAMEL, WHAT A WAY TO GO! THIS WAS GREAT! THANKS! :-))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Are we the only fortunate ones to have experienced death by caramel cookies and lived to write a review?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States