Dazzlin' Chicken -n- Dumplin's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jinrogue
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was delicious. We ended up almost doubling the amount of water, and it was still very thick. I recommend using bone-in chicken as the stock was fantastic. The celery could also use a shorter cook time. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was delicious. Use extra water or this recipe becomes very thick after all of that simmering. I also cut up 3 medium carrots and added them to the celery. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was pretty good. I cut this in half, and didn't measure the water, just covered the chicken with it. I probably used about double of what was called for, though. I didn't have any sage, so I used poultry seasoning instead, and I used carrots in place of the celery. I added a drained can of corn with the chicken and parsley, and I felt it added a lot. I tasted the broth after it was almost done, and I felt like it was a little bland and needed more salt, so I used some chicken bouillon to add more chicken flavor. We really enjoyed this, but I felt the smaller dumplings were better than the large ones. They soaked up more flavor. Next time i will make them all smaller, maybe 1 inch instead of 1 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I used this recipe for the basis of my chicken & dumplings this evening. I had some roast chicken left over after I made a quite sizable bowl of chicken salad along with the carcass. So I got chicken broth and set the chicken parts and bits to simmer. I added onion, celery and a small can of drained corn, after fishing the chicken out of the broth, along with the recipe spices and a few extras. While that simmered I made the dumplings with canned biscuits that I rolled out thin, cut into squares, and threw in the pot when the veggies were soft, in small batches. What I've learned about dumplings is that you NEVER put the top on, at least while they're forming. My dumplings turned out great altho I don't think I put enough of them in the broth, so that will be for next time. Except that it was peppery, my favorite spice, these chicken & dumplings came out better than I thought the would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
We just had this for dinner tonight and it was outstanding! The closest recipe to my moms I have ever made- and my mom is an excellent cook...it's just hard to get recipes from her because she doesn't measure anything :) This is the easiest dough for dumplings I've tried, almost impossible to mess up. This ones going in the recipe box and will be repeated for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was a great template for the dish overall. I changed the proportions, especially the liquid- I thought it needed about twice as much and I used stock rather than water. I also used half & half rather than heavy cream because it's what I had on hand. This makes A LOT of dumplings, which is fine by me, but it should be noted that this would serve more than 6 people; perhaps ten The flavor was very good and I'm happy there were no added oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
The flavor wasn't the problem, it was the amount of water called for. I was so bummed by the time this soup was done cooking because of the way it turned out. I read the reviews about adding extra water and so was aware of that but the soup was still so thick that it ended up being a pot of mush (with no liquid). If you make this soup make sure your pot is filled at least half way to the top with water or broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n.schaeffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Grandma's recipe had no detail so I've been searching for one like hers. This is it. (Serves 6.) I used 3 chicken breasts with skin removed. Covered with a combo of water and chicken broth. Added extra liquid so that chicken was submerged 2 inches beneath the surface of the water. I did not adjust the seasonings but did add 1c chopped carrots in addition to the celery. Quite good. On a whim, I added a tiny bit(1T)of the remaining heavy cream and shake of black pepper to each bowl just before serving. Yum. That made it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States