'Day Before Payday' Kielbasa and Corn Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
WOW! This was a great dinner! A nice change as another poster said! I couldn't find the frozen veggies, so I just cut up a fresh green bell pepper and a yellow onion. The sweetness in the onion was a great added flavor. I also drained the corn...as I just figured I was supposed to. I personally like my potatoes to be browned so I also cooked the dish a little longer. I cut everything up early and it was a breeze to throw it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Wow! My husband and daughter loved this meal. The potatoes and sausage were too much for a large pan. Had to cook this in a pot, so the cook time to get potatoes to "nearly tender" was much more than 10 minutes. But it was so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was pretty good, something different. My 2 year old ate everything on his plate, so it is for sure worth 5 stars! I used my veggie chopper to chop everything, even the sausage. I used fresh yellow onion and green pepper. Put the potatoes and onions in a big pot first so they could cook longer, chopped green pepper and sausage in the meantime. Added drained can of corn and salt, garlic, and chili powder. Let everything cook covered for 20 minutes, stirring once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EXALTADONAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sand Springs, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was really very good. I wasn't sure at first. I made a double batch since we have a very large family. I needed to cook it in batches though because otherwise it stayed to moist. You really need to let this cook until most of the jusices dry out and you get those crispy parts. I used frsh pepper and onions and also steamfresh corn. Left out the red pepper flakes due to sensitive taste buds and used paprika and a little chili powder in place. Like I said, I wasn't too sure about it, but it grew on me and I found myself going back and picking at it! That's a 5 star in my book. All of my children loved it and so did hubby. He said he could have easily eaten the rest. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My family liked this recipe very much. I have made it twice. The second time I used fresh bell pepper and onion rather than frozen and the result was much superior. I won't use the frozen pepper mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Wow! Quick, easy, cheap, and delicious. I used Turkey Smoked Sausage and a bag of frozen "Western" vegetables (red pepper, green pepper, corn & onions) to make it one step even easier. I cooked the batch in two large skillets to brown things easier and keep it from being too moist. Other than that, followed the recipe and it was great. Over easy egg on top really finishes it perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this today...eating it right now as a matter of fact, and it is fabulous! Easy, inexpensive and tasty! I have made variations of hashes in the past but I think this one is the best. I did make some changes to the recipe though. I used fresh onions and peppers rather than frozen, and I added mushrooms and 2 cloves of fresh garlic. I cooked the potatoes by themselves for about 15 minutes before I added everything else. In my other variations of hash I used to add eggs to the mixture itself, but this way was much better. Rather than dirty up another pan, however, I just transferred the hash to a serving dish and cooked the eggs in the same pan. Absolutely wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara North

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
We've made this a few times, different variations (kielbasa vs. bratwurst, with/without eggs, etc.) and it's always good. True story: when I recently had a week off from work, my husband requested I make three dishes -- steak salad, lasagna, and this. I find the red pepper flakes are a key ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I could seriously eat this everyday and not need anything else. Well, except for ketchup, but that's not the recipes fault! Good job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Blacketer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Better than I thought it would be. I needed to use up some potatoes and had some smoked turkey sausage, so I gave it a go. used fresh bell peppers. Don't skip the eggs! they make the dish! The kids loved it and all wanted more as long as they could get another egg with it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States