'Day Before Payday' Kielbasa and Corn Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Wow! My husband and daughter loved this meal. The potatoes and sausage were too much for a large pan. Had to cook this in a pot, so the cook time to get potatoes to "nearly tender" was much more than 10 minutes. But it was so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Really good and a nice change when you just want something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moundville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
WOW! This was a great dinner! A nice change as another poster said! I couldn't find the frozen veggies, so I just cut up a fresh green bell pepper and a yellow onion. The sweetness in the onion was a great added flavor. I also drained the corn...as I just figured I was supposed to. I personally like my potatoes to be browned so I also cooked the dish a little longer. I cut everything up early and it was a breeze to throw it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My family liked this recipe very much. I have made it twice. The second time I used fresh bell pepper and onion rather than frozen and the result was much superior. I won't use the frozen pepper mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Good recipe, but I suggest halving the recipe and omitting the red pepper flakes because they make it pretty spicy. I'll make it again, but with some changes. Possibly will change the vegetables too. Too many vegetables made the potatoes not cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I could seriously eat this everyday and not need anything else. Well, except for ketchup, but that's not the recipes fault! Good job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Blacketer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was really very good. I wasn't sure at first. I made a double batch since we have a very large family. I needed to cook it in batches though because otherwise it stayed to moist. You really need to let this cook until most of the jusices dry out and you get those crispy parts. I used frsh pepper and onions and also steamfresh corn. Left out the red pepper flakes due to sensitive taste buds and used paprika and a little chili powder in place. Like I said, I wasn't too sure about it, but it grew on me and I found myself going back and picking at it! That's a 5 star in my book. All of my children loved it and so did hubby. He said he could have easily eaten the rest. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Very good! I used a bag of frozen hashbrowns with the peppers and onions already in there to save time and it was great! Love the egg on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was pretty good, something different. My 2 year old ate everything on his plate, so it is for sure worth 5 stars! I used my veggie chopper to chop everything, even the sausage. I used fresh yellow onion and green pepper. Put the potatoes and onions in a big pot first so they could cook longer, chopped green pepper and sausage in the meantime. Added drained can of corn and salt, garlic, and chili powder. Let everything cook covered for 20 minutes, stirring once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EXALTADONAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sand Springs, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I really did make this the day before payday! =) I used fresh green peppers and an onion. I also added sliced mushrooms. I sauteed the onions and peppers before hand to get them a little softer. I added a little Franks Red Hot too for some heat and flavor. It did take a little longer for the potatoes to be soft (about 20 min). This was great, and easy, and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States