'Day Before Payday' Kielbasa and Corn Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Yummo! My husband kept saying, "can we have this everyday?"....I added 2 sweet potatoes which added color and flavor. I just used 1 med. onion and 1 green pepper vs. buying frozen...I will definately put this recipe in the "keeper" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritakay8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I love making Kielbasa, usually with sauerkraut or beans and hot peppers over rice. I came home yesterday and made this from memory using 2 fresh red bell peppers, an onion and frozen corn. I had fresh thyme I needed to use and replaced red potatoes with russerts I had on hand. Lots of ground pepper, hungarian paprika and some italian seasoning. WOW! This was a great alternative to my usual Kielbasa! Quick easy and DELICIOUS. I did not top with eggs, this was a meal in itself and a hit at my dinner table. This will be a regular meal in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holmes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
It was pretty darned good actually. Everyone (including the one year old) enjoyed it. I made it with fresh green pepper and fresh onions..otherwise it was exactly as written. Love how inexpensive and easy to make it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saintcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Yum, yum, yum. I used 1 each red, green, and yellow peppers and 1/2 onion instead of the frozen, and added 1 tsp each salt and pepper. Gotta have the egg. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is the bobmb! I had one ring of keilbasa and one of italian sausage so I used them. Other than that, I made it as directed and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Maybe my family was not in the mood for this, but it was not very tasty and not an exciting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this today...eating it right now as a matter of fact, and it is fabulous! Easy, inexpensive and tasty! I have made variations of hashes in the past but I think this one is the best. I did make some changes to the recipe though. I used fresh onions and peppers rather than frozen, and I added mushrooms and 2 cloves of fresh garlic. I cooked the potatoes by themselves for about 15 minutes before I added everything else. In my other variations of hash I used to add eggs to the mixture itself, but this way was much better. Rather than dirty up another pan, however, I just transferred the hash to a serving dish and cooked the eggs in the same pan. Absolutely wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara North

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I too made this today...the day before payday!! lol...that what drew my attention! I only wanted to spend a lil cash and I bought the main ingredients for less than $8! As others have said let it cook til all the juices are gone. It gets super good at that point. I doubled the red flakes and thought it could of used more. I also added one of those generic spice blends as I wanted a lot of flavor. I'll add more of that too next time. This was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Husband loved it! I used hominy in place of corn and fresh onion with frozen peppers. Especially rich with the fried egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
We've made this a few times, different variations (kielbasa vs. bratwurst, with/without eggs, etc.) and it's always good. True story: when I recently had a week off from work, my husband requested I make three dishes -- steak salad, lasagna, and this. I find the red pepper flakes are a key ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States