'Day Before Payday' Kielbasa and Corn Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I too made this today...the day before payday!! lol...that what drew my attention! I only wanted to spend a lil cash and I bought the main ingredients for less than $8! As others have said let it cook til all the juices are gone. It gets super good at that point. I doubled the red flakes and thought it could of used more. I also added one of those generic spice blends as I wanted a lot of flavor. I'll add more of that too next time. This was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Husband loved it! I used hominy in place of corn and fresh onion with frozen peppers. Especially rich with the fried egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
We've made this a few times, different variations (kielbasa vs. bratwurst, with/without eggs, etc.) and it's always good. True story: when I recently had a week off from work, my husband requested I make three dishes -- steak salad, lasagna, and this. I find the red pepper flakes are a key ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great stuff!! Not too spicy, just right, very tasty and filling!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Wow. Wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I really did make this the day before payday! =) I used fresh green peppers and an onion. I also added sliced mushrooms. I sauteed the onions and peppers before hand to get them a little softer. I added a little Franks Red Hot too for some heat and flavor. It did take a little longer for the potatoes to be soft (about 20 min). This was great, and easy, and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was pretty good, something different. My 2 year old ate everything on his plate, so it is for sure worth 5 stars! I used my veggie chopper to chop everything, even the sausage. I used fresh yellow onion and green pepper. Put the potatoes and onions in a big pot first so they could cook longer, chopped green pepper and sausage in the meantime. Added drained can of corn and salt, garlic, and chili powder. Let everything cook covered for 20 minutes, stirring once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EXALTADONAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sand Springs, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Very good! I used a bag of frozen hashbrowns with the peppers and onions already in there to save time and it was great! Love the egg on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was really very good. I wasn't sure at first. I made a double batch since we have a very large family. I needed to cook it in batches though because otherwise it stayed to moist. You really need to let this cook until most of the jusices dry out and you get those crispy parts. I used frsh pepper and onions and also steamfresh corn. Left out the red pepper flakes due to sensitive taste buds and used paprika and a little chili powder in place. Like I said, I wasn't too sure about it, but it grew on me and I found myself going back and picking at it! That's a 5 star in my book. All of my children loved it and so did hubby. He said he could have easily eaten the rest. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I could seriously eat this everyday and not need anything else. Well, except for ketchup, but that's not the recipes fault! Good job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Blacketer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States