'Day Before Payday' Kielbasa and Corn Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
It wasn't a bad recipe, but it seemed so mushy. I cooked it the proper amount of time and everything, but with all the food that's in the pan (and I used my largest pan) it came out quite soft, especially because of the frozen peppers. It was also rather spicy. I was worried that there wouldn't be any kick to it, but I was wrong. I don't think I'd make it again, but it was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I loveed it, my 2-year old loved it, but the rest of the family thought it was ok. This is a realy meat and potato lovers dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Made this for our ladies card group...it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Wonderful! I cut the potatoes and kielbasa really small, and cooked each step about 15 minutes to get it extra brown. Even my super-picky husband loved it! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Wow, this was great! My husband loved it. I used fresh onions and peppers since I didn't have any frozen ones. I'll definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was great. My husaband and picky kids all loved it, which is rare. The only change I made was to use frozen corn, which I think has a much fresher flavor. Even when I heated it up at work they were lining up for the recipe without even tasting it! This is definate keeper. My only warning would be to make sure you use a big enough skillet, as this does make alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I would have just given this like a 3-4 on taste, but it had so much more going on. It was a beautiful dish with a lot of vibrant colors. It was cheap to make (less than 10 dollars for what I would call 6 generous servings). It was also low calorie when I substituted egg whites for the eggs and turkey kielbasa for the regular kielbasa. It was only 5 WW points per serving and left us feeling rather full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Oh my! This is so good and easy! Perfect comfort food. I used garlic salt instead of plain salt and extra red pepper flakes because I love spicy food. I drained the can of corn also. My mouth is watering right now thinking about it. I think I will go warm up the leftovers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Addicted2Mangos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Overall, this was a fantastic dish to work with. We used fresh bell peppers and onion, which my boyfriend chopped up very small (not in strips) and which turned out to be just the right thing for the dish. The potatoes were cooked just right and it was a pretty big success in general. However, next time I am going to add a starch at the end, such as wild rice or cous cous, and I will chop up the kielbasa into more bite-sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Ha! Love the title of the recipe because we've all been there at one time or another! This was great and the kids really enjoyed it too. Reminded me of a dish my mom made for us when we were kids. I did add in more seasonings but other than that, it was yum as is. To me the fried eggs or even poached are a must to make the dish special. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States