'Day Before Payday' Kielbasa and Corn Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I've made this several times now, but always with a couple changes. First, I always stick the chopped potatoes in the microwave for 3 minutes or so before adding to the pan. This helps with the "everything's done but the potatoes" problem. Fresh onion and peppers are a must. I add the onion, potato, and sausage, let that cook for a couple minutes, then add the peppers and corn so they don't overcook and get mushy. The egg really takes this dish to the next level - don't skip it! I usually just fry the eggs in the same pan to save on dishes. Excellent comfort food and super easy to make, perfect after a trying day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Perfect! Thanks. Will be making this often. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I think this is the best recipe for someone who just through it all together! I used a broccoli/cauliflower/carrot frozen blend and used chili pepper instead of the red pepper flakes. I also added the fried eggs on top... this is the first time the boys actually went for seconds! They are picky 6 & 8 year old's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was awesome - my whole family loved it! The eggs really add to the dish, so don't leave them out. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Wow! That was easy - and good! I didn't try it with the egg but my husband did and really liked it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
this was very good but, i used fresh onion, bell pepper and frozen corn because it was cheaper and tastes way better. also used 2Tbsp canola to brown the kielbasa and potatoes and it still stuck to the bottom of my pan. used some water to steam the caramelization off, make a gravy and hash. don't eat without a over-easy egg on top. HTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
So I tried following this recipe, but ran into a few hiccups. First of all, I think I didn't chop the potatoes up fine enough. Because of this, it took them a very long time to soften. I added everything as stated, but when I realized the recipe was completed and my potatoes were still hard, I started adding milk and covering the whole thing so they would soften. The result was absolutely delicious! My roommate was stealing bowls of it while I wasn't looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
It wasn't a bad recipe, but it seemed so mushy. I cooked it the proper amount of time and everything, but with all the food that's in the pan (and I used my largest pan) it came out quite soft, especially because of the frozen peppers. It was also rather spicy. I was worried that there wouldn't be any kick to it, but I was wrong. I don't think I'd make it again, but it was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I loveed it, my 2-year old loved it, but the rest of the family thought it was ok. This is a realy meat and potato lovers dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Made this for our ladies card group...it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States