'Day Before Payday' Kielbasa and Corn Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I'd have given this recipe five stars even without my additions to it. As a cook, I know this works just as it is. There are two things that a person does with food when they are poor and have relatively no money....the first is to buy things that are cheap, the second is to get mileage on them. One of the great things about his recipe is it can do both. And in keeping with the spirit of the recipe I added leftover onions, bacon, and olives. The recipe didn't say whether or not the corn was to be drained first, and I did that because I wanted more of a 'pan fried' drier consistency to it rather than a soupy consistency. I also only used 1 TBSP of oil (and only for the potatoes). Next time I'm going to add bell peppers, and instead of plain red-pepper flakes...I'm going to use smoked red-pepper flakes. This is a wonderfully versatile recipe. Options I have already thought of include scrambling the eggs, tossing them in and doing a 'pan fried' version of a tortilla wrap...and it can always go in between two slices of toasted sourdough bread. This is a really great recipe and it is going into my recipe box for keeps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Huff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was super easy and very good. I made it just as written except used Turky Kielbasa. Everyone in the house loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used fresh onions and peppers, cut the potatoes down to 2 and added 8 oz of cabbage and carrots (the pre packaged cole slaw sold in the salad section of the supermarket). Seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic, and a sprinkle of paprika. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Very easy and good. It gets 5 stars because of how easy it is and comes out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wilmoth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. I didn't use the red pepper flakes. Next time I think I will use fresh green pepper and onion. YUMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Better than I thought it would be. I needed to use up some potatoes and had some smoked turkey sausage, so I gave it a go. used fresh bell peppers. Don't skip the eggs! they make the dish! The kids loved it and all wanted more as long as they could get another egg with it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Wow! Quick, easy, cheap, and delicious. I used Turkey Smoked Sausage and a bag of frozen "Western" vegetables (red pepper, green pepper, corn & onions) to make it one step even easier. I cooked the batch in two large skillets to brown things easier and keep it from being too moist. Other than that, followed the recipe and it was great. Over easy egg on top really finishes it perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I couldn't find the stif fry mix anywhere so I ended up using one fresh red pepper and 1 medium size yellow onion. These turned out really well and yummy. I did end up with a lot of left overs (I think it will serve 8 people depending on the portion size) so we will have some for lunch tomorrow as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
My husband and kids LOVED this dish! To save some time I just used thawed out frozen potatoes o'brien. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Great, quick dinner! I did end up serving it with basted eggs & toast. I also used fresh peppers & onions rather than frozen but frozen corn rather than canned:) Had leftovers for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States