Day Before Pay Day Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My family loved it. I used left over brown rice from the take out Chinese food from a few days before. I used coconut oil to "stir fry" the rice. I used corn instead of peas and added left over green beans. I didn't have green onions so I used a packet of onion soup and added a small amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Easy and good. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was pretty good. I made it a few times so far and Hubby likes it, too. Here are a few tweaks, though, for those who didn't find it as good and for anyone else who might wish for more authentic flavor: Fry all the vegetables in the oil first, then add in the rice, eggs and soy sauce - in that order; Sprinkle some Chinese 5-spice blend into the mixture while cooking; Add a few drops of sesame oil in with the vegetable oil for a flavor boost; Don't cover the pan, because the rice will become mushy and watery-tasting...instead, cook it for the full 5 minutes uncovered; And lastly, omit the celery! I've slso made this recipe using brown rice and multi-grain rice, and it was just as good (but healthier). And if you just want a tasty, different side dish, this can be made with the chicken left out, too. This is a nice, versatile little recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So easy and so good! I followed the suggestion of another reader and used Sesame oil. That really made a difference! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Good base recipe. I made quite a few changes after the first time I cooked it. I first sauteed vegetables in butter/sesame oil: sweet chopped onion (I didn't have green onions), grated ginger root, minced garlic, chopped red bell pepper, and bok choy along with the mushrooms, carrots, and celery. I then added thinly sliced sauteed pork, the scrambled eggs, soy sauce and the rice just long enough to heat through. I also added chili paste as one reader suggested to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
this was really good.. i didn't make the whole thing.. just wanted an asian side for our dinner.. so i left out the eggs and chicken.. doubled the amount of carrot.. huge note to use real soy.. i had the light kind and kept feeling like something was missing.. dumped a couple of packets of soy sauce (the kind you get at the fast food places) and it totally turned this around.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was pretty good. I used sesame oil to give it more flavor. I used broccoli instead of peas, left out the chicken, and added garlic. It does need more soy sauce, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Rice was bland. A good start but needed more flavor. I add chopped garlic, some fresh ginger. Diced red pepper, and some sesame oil. Used day old rice which tends to wwork better with fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! I used White and Brown rice and added leftover corn on the cob. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States