Day Before Pay Day Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Easy and good. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was pretty good. I made it a few times so far and Hubby likes it, too. Here are a few tweaks, though, for those who didn't find it as good and for anyone else who might wish for more authentic flavor: Fry all the vegetables in the oil first, then add in the rice, eggs and soy sauce - in that order; Sprinkle some Chinese 5-spice blend into the mixture while cooking; Add a few drops of sesame oil in with the vegetable oil for a flavor boost; Don't cover the pan, because the rice will become mushy and watery-tasting...instead, cook it for the full 5 minutes uncovered; And lastly, omit the celery! I've slso made this recipe using brown rice and multi-grain rice, and it was just as good (but healthier). And if you just want a tasty, different side dish, this can be made with the chicken left out, too. This is a nice, versatile little recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So easy and so good! I followed the suggestion of another reader and used Sesame oil. That really made a difference! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Good base recipe. I made quite a few changes after the first time I cooked it. I first sauteed vegetables in butter/sesame oil: sweet chopped onion (I didn't have green onions), grated ginger root, minced garlic, chopped red bell pepper, and bok choy along with the mushrooms, carrots, and celery. I then added thinly sliced sauteed pork, the scrambled eggs, soy sauce and the rice just long enough to heat through. I also added chili paste as one reader suggested to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
this was really good.. i didn't make the whole thing.. just wanted an asian side for our dinner.. so i left out the eggs and chicken.. doubled the amount of carrot.. huge note to use real soy.. i had the light kind and kept feeling like something was missing.. dumped a couple of packets of soy sauce (the kind you get at the fast food places) and it totally turned this around.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was pretty good. I used sesame oil to give it more flavor. I used broccoli instead of peas, left out the chicken, and added garlic. It does need more soy sauce, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Rice was bland. A good start but needed more flavor. I add chopped garlic, some fresh ginger. Diced red pepper, and some sesame oil. Used day old rice which tends to wwork better with fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! I used White and Brown rice and added leftover corn on the cob. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was ok.....a little bland. Made it as the recipe is written but might try a little more soy sauce if I try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States