Day Before Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is actually the first "Allrecipe" that I did not love. Followed the recipe exactly. I (and all of my dinner guests)thought they were too dry, too thick and just not very good mashed potatoes. Sorry. Although they do make very good potato pancakes for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
BIG HIT! Great way to save time on the day of an event. I made these for Superbowl Sunday. Prepared them with garlic cloves boiled along with the potatoes. Also, I used the crock pot idea, worked GREAT!! I had to double this recipe with huge potatoes, I did not measure the sour cream and cream cheese precisely, but added as much as I felt I needed to make it the consistency I liked. I did end up adding about a stick of butter and some half and half to make them creamier. Got many, many compliments, will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This recipe has changed the way i make potatoes and has added a longed for ease and simplicity to holiday cooking! My whole family loved this, AND get this...my mother-in-law asked for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Yum!!! The reviews about the strong taste of garlic are a little confusing as the recipe does not call for garlic. This time around I tossed in bacon bits and chives. Excellent recipe as written! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I loved his recipe! I used chives instead of onion powder and added minced garlic. I cannot make them any other way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I have made these several times when hosting for holidays and it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
No need for any other recipe. Everyone likes this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Wasn't terrible but a little too rich for my taste. Too much cream cheese I think. I made these and served them without chilling overnight, so maybe that had some thing to do with it. I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Wonderful! This recipe has been voted even better than Grandma's by the entire family, which is really saying something since we looove our mashed potatoes. Recipe is great as is but I like to make 2 changes: garlic powder instead of onion powder and onion & chive cream cheese instead of regular. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
LOVED this recipe! It was a hit at Thanksgiving. As other reviewers mentioned, it was reminiscent of a twice-baked potato. The flavor was excellent! I used yukon gold potatoes, cream cheese with chives and low-fat sour cream. Added pats of butter and some milk to crock pot and set it to low a couple of hours before dinner. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States