Day Before Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I took one reviewers advice and didn't make this the day before. Instead I made them ahead of the turkey, without the last minute rush, and was able to put them in the oven to re-heat while the turkey rested. They were absolutely delicious! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've been making these for several years and they're always a hit. No need for gravy...it's kind of gilding the lily! My sister-in-law calls them "Naughty Potatoes" LOL. I like to use ground white pepper and instead of the garlic powder, I use fresh garlic cloves that I microwave with a little butter until they're soft then mash it well. These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
So disappointed. I usually make all five star recipes off of all recipes com with great success. Not this time. When it called for 2 teaspoons of onion powder I hesitated on the second teaspoon thinking that sounded like an awful lot. But I'm a firm believer in respecting the recipe as it is written and follow it the first time to a T. so I went ahead and added the 2 teaspoons. When I got it all together And had my first taste all I could taste with the overpowering taste of the onion powder I didn't even read the reviews like I usually do because I've had so much success with making delicious food off of the five star recipes. That was another mistake I should've read the reviews first. I also found it very very dry so I'm going to make my good old mashed taters for thanksgiving tomorrow. I also discovered that it wouldn't be good recipe to use for the holidays because I will already have a turkey in the oven or rolls or something else so I need to make them on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I wanted to sample this dish prior to serving, and boy was I thrilled on how great and wonderful it turned out! My husband absolutely loved them, and I am real excited to add this along with a few of my side dishes for this Thanksgiving! Thanks Erin for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Yum! I didn't have cream cheese so used a bit of milk to add moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Great way to make potatoes ahead of time. Are kinda stiff, maybe add more milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by itsalexjean
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this today, it was delicious! I didn't do the whole next day step, but I did leave it in the refrigerator before I baked it. I also didn't have any onion powder, so I substituted it with a dash of lemon pepper. It came out great! I cannot wait to use this recipe for my very 1st thanksgiving dinner. Thank you so much for sharing this very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe so many times. My sons and I absolutely love them. The only change I make is to not add the onion powder. So easy to make them the day before our Sunday family dinner or Thanksgiving and Christmas. I actually heat them up in the microwave. My oldest son called me for the recipe and I told him to go to Allrecipes.com type in the name and just omit the onion. I think he has now become hooked on All recipes. LOVE THESE POTATOES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
a have been making these for many many years. I use 1 t. garlic salt is the only seasoning. Along with the cream cheese and sour cream, I don't think they need the butter. I've experimented through the years with crumbled bacon, chopped green onions and cheddar or mozzarella cheese. I just like it without any of those. The problem with this dish is it's not good with gravy. A holiday meal like Thanksgiving, just seems like you should have mashed potatoes and gravy with the turkey. But these are awesome with ham, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I agree with another reviewer that it was very dry as written. I had to add some milk/cream. (Maybe my potatoes were too large for the amounts of the other ingredients.) Also added some fresh chopped chives and topped with a little shredded cheese. Great idea to have it made ahead, though -- I hate trying to mash potatoes at the last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States