Day Before Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by EBC4KAC
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Absolutely great idea. And simple as potatoes. Few tips. Sour cream and cream cheese can be fat free or Lite or with chive and/or onion flavor. Skim milk poured over top will absorb into mash. I do this before I refridgerate and also before baking to loosen it up. And I also put some cheese on top before baking, then after baking I stir. While cooking I season to taste. Maybe a little more onion powder. Sometimes I add a LITTLE garlic salt for a LITTLE kick. Feel free to contact me. I make this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBC4KAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I was skeptical about these, but wanted something I could make ahead. These potatoes were delicious - the cream cheese and sour cream kept them smooth and creamy. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good! A like the idea of no-gravy required type of mashed potatoes. I used red potatoes (always have) and thought it wasn't a great choice and a little on the thick side but it was still yummy! Also made a peaked designed with a fork on top of the potato casserole for a cuter presentation. My daughter would love the addition of bacon and cheddar cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made it for a Christmas party and they were a huge hit (and no one asked for gravy)! I made them again a few days ago, and they still turned out great without sour cream (I didn't have any handy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rookie "Cook"ie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These are so easy, good tasting and the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbies recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Made for work Christmas party. Whenever I make mashed potatoes ahead of time, I always add more milk because they do tend to be thick when it's time to serve. I prepared these in the crockpot. Just make sure to stir occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent. I omit onion powder. So good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These were good. Trying to make things easier on myself and my small kitchen, I made these for Thanksgiving this year. The whole family seemed to enjoy them and I liked them as well. The only thing I would mention is that with the sour cream and the cream cheese in them, they didn't seem to go witht he gravy as well. However, these would still be great with steak, meatloaf, chicken, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Makes Mashed Potatoes easy! I added a little milk to make them a little less thick. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia2242

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Doubled this recipe for Christmas dinner, I wish I had not doubled the cream cheese, It came out thicker than I wanted. Nothing a little milk didnt fix. Overall it was good and Ill use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States