Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I never would have thought to add stuffing...it was like having dumplings. My family loved this. Next to turkey a al king, this is a new Thanksgiving staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atreides1111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wow what a great day after the party dish. It is sooo good, we just loved it. I made it just exactly like the recipe, which is the only way to do a real review. It is like thanksgiving in a bowl. If you don't like this you don't like thanks giving dinner at all. My new favorite soup. Thanks Honeybear24 I will think of you every time I make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This soup does have the consistency of porrige, the rice amount is good. In Hawaii we call it Chook and in Hong Kong something very like it is breakfast fare every day. I was pleased to find it in my daily email --I made it according to recipe using plenty of kalua turkey as I did not have a single bone but plenty turkey. Shocked over the sodium amt. so I did not add salt and must say not needed. Thank you very much. Mahalo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is so delicious and very similar to a recipe that my step-MIL makes. I used a box of mixed frozen veggies (carrots, peas, corn and grean beans), I also added some leftover gravey, extra poultry seasoning, sage and thyme. I decreased the rice to 1/2c. When I was cooking down the carcass, I covered that with just water in a huge pot and simmered that for a good 4 hours until all the meat fell off the bones and the everything kinda fell apart. I added 4 chicken boullion packets to this. After this was done, I strained all of my turkey broth in to another big pot, added a carton (4c.) of low sodium/fat free chicken broth, all of the meat that I shredded and picked over, the veggies, seasonings, stuffing, etc.....This made a HUGE pot of soup....way to chock full of meat and veggies to eat as is....So I am packing and freezing this as is and when reheating, I will add more chicken broth to "thin" out this wonderful soup. I love the stuffing in this.....tastes like thanksgiving in a bowl. Thank you! PS...this is my first time ever boiling down a carcass and making soup and one thing that I think is really important is to serioulsy pick over and feel that there is no little bones, membranes, grissel and or fat or skin in this soup. Take the time...it is worth it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this yesterday & even doubled the recipe so I could serve a large group. Not sure what happened. 3 hours after adding the rice, the rice was still uncooked. Will be finding a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Was searching for ways to use up the Thanksgiving leftovers and ran across this. It sounded interesting and would use up more than just the leftover turkey. My hubby is not a huge soup fan but he absolutely loved it! I agree with others that there was too much rice for my taste. Not very "soupy" - more like a rice dish. Would only use about 3/4 C next time. Flavors were wonderful I didn't add as much as called for as my dressing and leftover turkey were already very flavorful. Don't be afraid of the odd addition of the dressing - give it a try! Can't wait to have it for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great use of the leftover turkey. I followed pretty closely to the recipe except substituted corn for the peas. I also reduced the amount of rice to 1 1/2 cups and am glad I did, otherwise it would have been too thick. Oh, I also added about 3/4 cup of stuffing because I was afraid it would add a weird consistency to the soup. I'm not sure the stuffing is even needed but not bad to add it anyway. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great and easy recipe! I normally make a Turkey Soup after the big day and put the stuffing on the bottom of the serving bowl before adding the soup. I did that with this recipe as I was worried my homemade stuffing would turn out goopy if cooked in the soup. Super Yummy!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vtSerendipity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This soup IS very good. I left out the peas because I didn't have any, but otherwise made exactly has written. The stuffing adds a nice touch and is a great way to use up leftovers. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made this today with Thanksgiving leftovers. The whole family LOVED it! Reminds me of soup my grandma used to make. One bit of advice; this would probably be good with a stuffing like stove top, but if you make your own stuffing, the larger chunks of bread turn to a gloppy mess. I ended up fishing out as much of it as possible. The little bits that were in there were tasty though. I only added a few shakes of poultry seasoning and about a cup of left over gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States