Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was the best turkey soup I've ever made. The difference: the addition of the leftover stuffing, which I would never have considered. I was a little leery of what it might do to the texture, but it was totally fine, no mushiness or soggy bread texture. The only changes I made were to leave out the poultry seasoning and sage, as I felt the stuffing would provide the needed flavors, and it did. It was really delicious, and I will definitely make it whenever I have the opportunity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Awesome recipe for using up your leftovers after a holiday! Instead of adding chicken broth, I just boiled my turkey carcass for 4-6 hours and ended up with very flavorful broth without the added salt (and expense) of canned chicken broth. The huge amount of flavor in my broth could be because my turkey was injected with cajun seasoning and fried though! I boiled the carcass the day before I planned to make the soup so I could refrigerate it and skim off some of the fat. I was lucky enough to have a few cups of turkey meat left over that I added to this soup also. I used only about a cup of rice instead of two cups since this has extra carbs from the stuffing and used my leftover green bean casserole and a large can of veg-all instead of the frozen peas for more nutritional value. This recipe is great! Who would have thought to use stuffing in a soup? And since it has stuffing, of course you have to add any leftover gravy that you might have also ;o) This soup smelled heavenly while it cooked. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was so easy and tasty. I had two turkey carcassas & no stuffing, so I used 2 boxes of boxed turkey flavored stuffing mix, followed everything else except for adding leftover gravy, didn't have that on hand. It came out soooo good! Already decided on Turkey for Christmas just to have the excuse to make this soup again!Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
OMG! Really loved that fact that nothing is wasted after Thanksgiving. I didn't have the carcass so I used the leftover chicken stock I had, also added 4 cups of water to stretch it out. Other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out great! My hubby was very happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seasonedhandatl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Didn't have time to make this soup the day after Thanksgiving so I froze my turkey carcass until yesterday (1 week after Thanksgiving). I did roast the carcass for about 40 mins. @350 first because brown food tastes best! I made this soup and I used brown rice instead of white rice since that's just like styrofoam so I cooked the soup with the rice for about 1 hour. I did use 3 qts. of home made chicken stock. This was great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
excellent, added left over gravy and stuffing. did not add the poultry seasoning. did not have and did not want it to be salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this yesterday using okra instead of peas. it was sooooooo good. Not only was it satisfying but the aroma while cooking made it seem festive. We finished feeling like we had just had thanksgiving diner again. I will freeze the next turkey carcus so I can make it on a cold winter day when we need a little comfort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This soup was very good. My son in law, not only had a big bowl for dinner, but also took it for his luch the next day. We just added the left over gravy to give it more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
good recipe. left out the peas, since after tasting thought it was complete, and doubled both the carrots and celery. Also substituted half the broth for water, and added a little salt. Added a clove of chopped garlic and, like others, was really skeeved out mixing the stuffing in with the turkey before it was cleaned. The recipe isn't specific, but once the turkey is done boiling, you need to go through it really well to pull out bones and fat. Added stuffing after turkey was cleaned, and used much less rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlemont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States