Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Good recipe but I do omit the peas and rice and added egg noodles instead . I have made this for years and everyone loves it ! It does make a lot for a small family but it does freeze well .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was really good and a great use of that carcass! Only changes I made were to use two chicken carcasses because that's what I had and to use brown rice instead of white. I too found that there wasn't enough liquid so next time would decrease the rice to 1 to 1 1/2 cups I think. I also think I would add more chicken or turkey than just what was left on the bones. Guess I pick the bones too clean because there really wasn't much meat in the soup. All in all will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I make it with egg noodles instead of rice, and add baby carrots and some kale. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chucker999
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Really liked this. Would do the carcass in broth by itself first, then strain it to prevent any bones being left in, but other than that this is a great way to repurpose leftovers. Really nice on a cool day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I used the recipe for the first time today and the soup was great. I read a lot of the reviews and used the recipe as a base. I cooked my carcass in mostly water with about a cup of broth, s&p, and garlic for four hours. I strained the meat and chopped it to go back in the pot. While cooling and separating the meat, I threw all of my veggies (in my case carrots, celery, onion, green peppers and corn) in the pot with another couple of cups of broth. I used the bay leaves and poultry seasoning but did not have sage on hand. I did not use stuffing because I couldn't get anyone to agree to sacrifice it, but I did add some gravy to thicken it a bit. I cooked the veggies about an hour and added 3/4 of a package of wide egg noodles in the last 15 minutes. This recipe yielded almost 6 quarts so I'm going to be freezing a lot of it. I will continue to play with it each time I make it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I've made this twice...the 1st time I went by the receipe almost exactly. It was okay, but I was slightly grossed out by having to fish the turkey bones and body parts out of the stock. The 2nd time, I used half of the carcass of a 16lb turkey, and tied it into cheesecloth. This method flavored the stock without the bony-mess. I added what was left of my french meat stuffing (has a bit of ground beef and ground pork in it), leftover homemade gravy, and medium egg noodles - which I cooked separately and added once the soup was done...and WOW = DElish !!! I did not add sage or poultry seasoning since I add Bell's Poultry Seasoning to my stuffing and spices are in that already. With a few modifications, this soup is the bomb-dot-com. Thanks to the OP for a great starter receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Had to scale for a 21lb turkey carcass and got a little heavy handed with the rice. A bit more like casserole than soup, but very delicious and my freezer is packed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knancy
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Whole family loved it. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Finally a turkey carcass soup that we liked. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer W.
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was excellent! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States