Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
awesome recipe not so appetizing title. The only thing I will change next time is the amount of rice. I think maybe one cup will be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
We have made this for several years, but we also add leftover mashed potatoes and replace the rice with egg noodles. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I have made this soup for years. A friend suggested to me to put carcas and tidbits back in the uncleaned roaster it was cooked in ( I make the gravy in roaster on stove top). add 1 chopped onion, 2 bay leaves, salt and cover with water. Pop it back in the oven 400F for 2 hours. Strain returning bits of turkey back to the broth. You can freeze this in containers adding to it whatever you like when you want some fresh turkey soup. Dual purpose, roaster is easy to clean after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This soup is absolutely fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly as written. My guess is that those who said the soup had too much rice in it did not add enough water to the pot. After adding 10 cups of chicken stock (2 1/2 quarts), I probably had to add at least that same amount of water, if not more, in order to cover the turkey carcass. This recipe will be my new day-after-Thanksgiving recipe every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was such an easy soup to make and with a bit of seasoning (salt & pepper to taste), it was really good! I used a bag of baby carrots, no peas, and 3/4 bag of egg noodles instead of rice---because that's what I had. Also, the stuffing I make has corn in it so that added an extra veggie. As suggested, I added gravy to the pot and, after covering the 13 lb. carcass with a broth/water combo, I'd say the yield was close to 5 quarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohoes, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I have to agree that this didn't turn out like I thought--2 cups is way too much rice! It tasted good but was more like turkey goop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used a box of orzo instead of rice. Also needed at least 2 more cups of stock and at least 8 more cups of water to cover the carcass of my 22 pound turkey. Works out just fine, since there is so much more soup to go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I loved it! So did my in laws! It can cook down thick which I like but you could always add water. Amazing how many meals I got out of a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
i did this recipe a couple days after christmas and it was awesome. let it sit and marry for a day and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meaghan R. Dozeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Awesome soup! I only put in 1.5 cups of rice - that was more than enough. Also, added a cup of white wine..! Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksWithClass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Labrador City, Newfoundland, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States