Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
excellent, added left over gravy and stuffing. did not add the poultry seasoning. did not have and did not want it to be salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this yesterday using okra instead of peas. it was sooooooo good. Not only was it satisfying but the aroma while cooking made it seem festive. We finished feeling like we had just had thanksgiving diner again. I will freeze the next turkey carcus so I can make it on a cold winter day when we need a little comfort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This soup was very good. My son in law, not only had a big bowl for dinner, but also took it for his luch the next day. We just added the left over gravy to give it more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
good recipe. left out the peas, since after tasting thought it was complete, and doubled both the carrots and celery. Also substituted half the broth for water, and added a little salt. Added a clove of chopped garlic and, like others, was really skeeved out mixing the stuffing in with the turkey before it was cleaned. The recipe isn't specific, but once the turkey is done boiling, you need to go through it really well to pull out bones and fat. Added stuffing after turkey was cleaned, and used much less rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlemont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I never would have thought to add stuffing...it was like having dumplings. My family loved this. Next to turkey a al king, this is a new Thanksgiving staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atreides1111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wow what a great day after the party dish. It is sooo good, we just loved it. I made it just exactly like the recipe, which is the only way to do a real review. It is like thanksgiving in a bowl. If you don't like this you don't like thanks giving dinner at all. My new favorite soup. Thanks Honeybear24 I will think of you every time I make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This soup does have the consistency of porrige, the rice amount is good. In Hawaii we call it Chook and in Hong Kong something very like it is breakfast fare every day. I was pleased to find it in my daily email --I made it according to recipe using plenty of kalua turkey as I did not have a single bone but plenty turkey. Shocked over the sodium amt. so I did not add salt and must say not needed. Thank you very much. Mahalo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is so delicious and very similar to a recipe that my step-MIL makes. I used a box of mixed frozen veggies (carrots, peas, corn and grean beans), I also added some leftover gravey, extra poultry seasoning, sage and thyme. I decreased the rice to 1/2c. When I was cooking down the carcass, I covered that with just water in a huge pot and simmered that for a good 4 hours until all the meat fell off the bones and the everything kinda fell apart. I added 4 chicken boullion packets to this. After this was done, I strained all of my turkey broth in to another big pot, added a carton (4c.) of low sodium/fat free chicken broth, all of the meat that I shredded and picked over, the veggies, seasonings, stuffing, etc.....This made a HUGE pot of soup....way to chock full of meat and veggies to eat as is....So I am packing and freezing this as is and when reheating, I will add more chicken broth to "thin" out this wonderful soup. I love the stuffing in this.....tastes like thanksgiving in a bowl. Thank you! PS...this is my first time ever boiling down a carcass and making soup and one thing that I think is really important is to serioulsy pick over and feel that there is no little bones, membranes, grissel and or fat or skin in this soup. Take the time...it is worth it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this yesterday & even doubled the recipe so I could serve a large group. Not sure what happened. 3 hours after adding the rice, the rice was still uncooked. Will be finding a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Was searching for ways to use up the Thanksgiving leftovers and ran across this. It sounded interesting and would use up more than just the leftover turkey. My hubby is not a huge soup fan but he absolutely loved it! I agree with others that there was too much rice for my taste. Not very "soupy" - more like a rice dish. Would only use about 3/4 C next time. Flavors were wonderful I didn't add as much as called for as my dressing and leftover turkey were already very flavorful. Don't be afraid of the odd addition of the dressing - give it a try! Can't wait to have it for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States