Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
First attempt at making turkey soup. Easy and delicious. Only thing I changed was I left out the celery as I did not have any. Also threw in some spinach as I needed to use it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I did what other reviews said to do and cut the amount of rice down but there still not a ton of broth but otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My family loved this soup so much I am going to make it after EVERY turkey feast! It was yummy and oh so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
In my house, "leftover" stuffing (and bacon...and wine) is much like Santa Claus, in that it doesn't exist! So, I used a box of sage-flavored stuffing mix. Other than that, and decreasing the rice to 1 and 1/2 cups (which we thought was plenty), I followed the recipe as written. I debated on what to rate this. My daughter and I thought it was okay, while my boyfriend said it was "really good". Ultimately, I guess I just prefer to make a stock out of the carcass first, rather than make a soup with it. As the cook, I found it a bit off-putting to fish bones and skin out of my pot of beautiful ingredients, and I think it is simpler overall to just make and strain a broth. This was a nice enough meal for a chilly winter's night, and I am glad I tried it. Just not so sure I would make it again. Thanks for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
with half the rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this on Black Friday. I did not put in the peas (didn't want to) and added egg noodles instead of rice. It was so good! My family liked it too (even my pick eater daughter). It even tasted better the next day. I definitely will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I did not follow this recipe exactly, but I liked the general idea. This is what I did: browned my turkey carcass in the oven, then made stock with it, adding water, carrots, celery, onion, peppercorns, bay leaves, whole sage leaves and rosemary sprigs. I strained that and used some of it to make the soup, adding leftover chopped turkey, sauteed chopped onion and celery, carrots and about a cup of leftover stuffing, and I seasoned it with salt, pepper and a little fresh thyme. I don't like rice in soups, so I used ditalini pasta and I used chopped spinach for the peas, adding that in just the last few minutes. REALLY good soup! The stuffing added a lot of flavor, and thickened it up ever so slightly. I thought about adding some cannelini beans, but this soup was plenty hearty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Was excellent,, I highly recomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmie Zee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
My first time making turkey bone soup, and it's delicious! I skipped the peas because I didn't have any and adjusted the seasonings a bit because I did have to add water. But very happy with the results, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Very good!! I reduced the rice to 1 C. (and still felt overwhelmed by the amount of rice...). I put all of this in my slow cooker and left it on low for about 4 hours. I added a spoonful of leftover pan gravy, and in the end, everyone thought the soup was delicious! Would definitely make this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States