Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
i did this recipe a couple days after christmas and it was awesome. let it sit and marry for a day and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Awesome soup! I only put in 1.5 cups of rice - that was more than enough. Also, added a cup of white wine..! Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksWithClass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Labrador City, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is the perfect way to use up the turkey dinner leftovers and make a delicious stew. I did not have any rice so I used pasta instead. Another reviewer said to add the leftover gravy so I tried that as well. It was so delicious and satisfying that even my picky eater son ate some. My husband and I both plan on taking some to work today for lunch. The bonus is that this pot of stew cost next to nothing to make since it mainly consists of leftovers. Yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This soup is great! I have now made it twice (last year and this one) right after Thankgiving. I do add more broth/water, but otherwise we love it as is. Use whatever frozen veggies you have on hand and freeze to serve later! Since I cook my stuffing right in the turkey cavity, this is the best recipe to "use up" the turkey. I didn't have to add any additonal stuffing to the soup this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a great base recipe. I added a lot more variety with my vegetables and used a wild/longrain rice combo. I did have some trouble getting all the bones, but I suppose that comes with the territory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I think many times turkey soup can be somewhat boring, but not this one. After reading the other reviewer comments, I put about 1-1/3 cups of rice in. It was more than plenty. As the soup sits the rice just keeps absorbing the liquid. I may cut back to 1 cup next time. The flavors were terrific and I liked the "stew" consistency. I will definitely make this again. Perfect for cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Excellent soup. Followed everything except I ddnt use the rice. Would make again. Even my grandchildren loved it. Vegatables and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Absolutely yummy, but with following changes: Decrease rice by 1/2 cup, add veggies and stuffing AFTER you remove the carcass and bones, and I increase the celery & carrots since we like alot. Yes you will likely add water to cook the carcass, so recipe makes alot. Stuffing is great addition, thanks for sharing. This is my go-to soup each time I have a turkey carcass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Just made this Thanksgiving afternoon and was easy and fun to make. We did take a previous reviewers advice and cut back on the amount of rice by 1/2 cup and glad we did as the rice continues to soak up liquid. We also used only half the amount of chicken broth and added more water to let the carcass provide stock for us without the added salt in prepared chicken broth. Savory worked quite well in place of sage. 5 year old and wife alike loved it as much as I did! A keeper ~ Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProduceMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is by far the best turkey soup ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States