Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Was searching for ways to use up the Thanksgiving leftovers and ran across this. It sounded interesting and would use up more than just the leftover turkey. My hubby is not a huge soup fan but he absolutely loved it! I agree with others that there was too much rice for my taste. Not very "soupy" - more like a rice dish. Would only use about 3/4 C next time. Flavors were wonderful I didn't add as much as called for as my dressing and leftover turkey were already very flavorful. Don't be afraid of the odd addition of the dressing - give it a try! Can't wait to have it for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great use of the leftover turkey. I followed pretty closely to the recipe except substituted corn for the peas. I also reduced the amount of rice to 1 1/2 cups and am glad I did, otherwise it would have been too thick. Oh, I also added about 3/4 cup of stuffing because I was afraid it would add a weird consistency to the soup. I'm not sure the stuffing is even needed but not bad to add it anyway. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great and easy recipe! I normally make a Turkey Soup after the big day and put the stuffing on the bottom of the serving bowl before adding the soup. I did that with this recipe as I was worried my homemade stuffing would turn out goopy if cooked in the soup. Super Yummy!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vtSerendipity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This soup IS very good. I left out the peas because I didn't have any, but otherwise made exactly has written. The stuffing adds a nice touch and is a great way to use up leftovers. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made this today with Thanksgiving leftovers. The whole family LOVED it! Reminds me of soup my grandma used to make. One bit of advice; this would probably be good with a stuffing like stove top, but if you make your own stuffing, the larger chunks of bread turn to a gloppy mess. I ended up fishing out as much of it as possible. The little bits that were in there were tasty though. I only added a few shakes of poultry seasoning and about a cup of left over gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Followed this recipe exactly except for cutting back to 1 1/2 cups rice based on others' comments. At first I thought I should have kept it at 2 cups because it was very brothy but as it sat to cool down it thickened up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Not happy with the way it turned out. It was pretty mushy and not too much flavor. I won't make again. Others may like it, it just isn't for me. Glad I tried it though...now I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Really good! Added the left over gravy to the pot. Kids liked it and hubby said that it was the best day after meal he had ever had :). It is really thick but really cheap and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is very similar to Better Homes & Gardens Turkey Frame Soup. Here's the thing with soup...it doesn't have to be exact. Use what you have and what you like! I usually have a >20lb turkey so I break up the carcass to fit it into the pot more easily. Otherwise this is a great way to finish up the leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Good idea, putting left over dressing into the soup. I used a blend of long grain brown and wild rice and also added frozen corn. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States