Day-After-Thanksgiving Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I can't wait for the next turkey dinner so I can snag the carcass for another soup. This recipe is wonderful. Followed the instruction pretty much to the letter. I didn't use peas because I didn't have the. I added the zest of one lemon to the broth just because I like a hint of lemon. I added cooked rice to the bowl and poured hot soup over rice. Got rave reviews. Even my six year old granddaughter who didn't even want to try it loved it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Quick and easy. I will use this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Much too messy to add the veggies before removing the turkey bones, etc. Simmer the picked over carcass with the leftover stuffing then strain and degrease the broth. This gives a bold flavor to which the rest of the ingredients are added. There is no need for garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
The picture looks great, but is clearly noodles not rice. Is this the correct recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I have made turkey soup this way for years with a few changes; I use whole wheat egg noodles instead of rice and if there are any mashed potatoes left over, add them to the mix. They thicken the soup a bit to a creamier consistency. (If there are no mashed potatoes left over, throw in a 1/2 cup or so of instant mashed potatoes!) I also add a can of cream soup, mushroom or celery are best. This is our favorite "after Thanksgiving" meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by odetobeauty
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Just got done eating a bowl of this. It is alright. I did not have rice so I just threw in the bag of egg noodles I had and skipped the peas. I'm not sure about putting stuffing it in, I had to scoop out so bread clumps. With the right amount of salt and pepper it is decent. The boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odetobeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I thought this was intriguing with the addition of stuffing to it. It does give the broth a much heartier consistency. I followed the recipe for the most part. I only added a teaspoon of poultry seasoning an I wish I had headed someone's advice to add only one cup of rice. I used 1 1/2 cups and it was just a bit much. I added more chicken stock. But, all and all, I woul make this again next year. I have (6) 2 pound deli containers for the freezer and enough for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
After two attempts of turkey soup, I figured I try this one. The only thing I did not add was the poultry seasoning because of the review I read. My husband commented how good it was twice while watching TV. To me that is success. He said keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was the easiest soup I have ever made. Followed the dirction pretty much to the tee, only thing is I did not put in all the stuffing it called for. I put all kinds of vegtable in. Thank you for posting this it was great and a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States