Dawn's Kale Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is delicious. I used all kale (approx. 1 lb.), butter instead of olive oil, and almonds instead of cashews. So, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
FYI: garlic should be minced. I failed to write that in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made this last night....it was terrific! I used pecans toasted because that's what I had so I can only imagine how good it would be with cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had been looking for a good Kale recipe because it is so nutritious. The first time I prepared it, I used nuts, but did not the second time and didn't miss them at all and also cut back 1 tablespoon olive oil by not using nuts. Just trying to cut calories! One problem, however, with the recipe, it doesn't give instructions on if the garlic is to be used whole, or cut up. the second time I prepared this, I sliced the garlic to bring out the flavor and it made a positive difference. I also cut up the Kale into bite size pieces so it would be easier to eat. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
1st time I have cooked kale! My grandma, who said she hated kale & is extremely finicky about food ate her whole plateful & said she liked it. (She really won't eat it if she doesn't!) My grandpa liked it so much he took my bowl when I had my backed turned to take the cornbread of the oven! :) No leftovers! Changes: Unless you buy raw cashews, they are roasted. I had some & used them. I bet this would be even better with freshly roasted cashews. Wow. I I had used a little of the bunch of kale for another recipe. I tried to cut a bit from the center, places that looked tougher. I used a bag of baby spinach minus a little, since that is what I had. I used a medium sized shallot since that is what I had (& I'm not as crazy about onions) I used 3 garlic cloves, because I had fewer greens & I tend to find garlic overpowering. This was just right for me, though most people I know would probably be happy with the whole amount. I will probably try 4 if I have the proper amounts. Also, unfortunately I only had black pepper instead of white. It was still wonderful. I made this with "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" & ham for an easy, quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Wow! I have never like vegetables very much. But when I heard how nutrient dense kale was I went searching for how to cook it. I tried this recipe only changing almonds for cashews and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Scholz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was a great recipe! My husband and I loved it! Not so many KALE recipes out there to choose from. Thanks again! We will make it again! From Ketchupmustardtak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
It is excellent by itself but on different occasions I have mixed in seasoned chicken and/or also added garlic shrimp to this dish with wonderful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My husband is not a veggie eater, but he really needs to eat veggies.. too scared to try but this one turns out really good and delicious and now it's one of his favorite sidedish's. I made a few changes,rather then use salt, i used instant chicken bouillon, spring onions and i sprinkled parmesan cheese on the top....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tedmerz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Trempealeau, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Loved it!! Easy and delish and so healthy! Added lots more garlic & onion and even some leftover, cooked broccoli rabe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States