Dawn's Kale Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. Had never eaten kale before and was pleasantly surprised. I didn't add the cashews as it was salty enough and I don't need the extra calories. I did add a rasher of bacon instead. Added a great smokey flavour to the dish. Currently on a high protein low carb diet and this was perfect. Served it with baked salmon and mashed celeriac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
First time I've ever tried kale (picked some up at the farmers market). Wow! This recipe is a keeper. I used butter instead of oil and just toasted the cashews in the butter in the skillet, then removed and started with the onion. I didn't have any garlic so I just sprinkled in some garlic powder. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Loved it!! Easy and delish and so healthy! Added lots more garlic & onion and even some leftover, cooked broccoli rabe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
YUM! This is really good! I did add a tiny splash of white wine (less than 1/4 cup), a sprinkle of grated parmesan cheese on top and toasted pecans in lieu of cashews (out of stock). Fantastic! Even our one family member who usually would not even consider this as edible food liked it, and the rest of us loved it! I am anxious to try it with cashews as written! Thank you for the recipe, Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was ok, nothing special. It was my first time having cooked kale. I threw in raisins for an added flavour boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good, but missing something. Next time I may try throwing something else in it too, like a splash of white wine or cranberries or parmesian cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had been looking for a good Kale recipe because it is so nutritious. The first time I prepared it, I used nuts, but did not the second time and didn't miss them at all and also cut back 1 tablespoon olive oil by not using nuts. Just trying to cut calories! One problem, however, with the recipe, it doesn't give instructions on if the garlic is to be used whole, or cut up. the second time I prepared this, I sliced the garlic to bring out the flavor and it made a positive difference. I also cut up the Kale into bite size pieces so it would be easier to eat. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
1st time I have cooked kale! My grandma, who said she hated kale & is extremely finicky about food ate her whole plateful & said she liked it. (She really won't eat it if she doesn't!) My grandpa liked it so much he took my bowl when I had my backed turned to take the cornbread of the oven! :) No leftovers! Changes: Unless you buy raw cashews, they are roasted. I had some & used them. I bet this would be even better with freshly roasted cashews. Wow. I I had used a little of the bunch of kale for another recipe. I tried to cut a bit from the center, places that looked tougher. I used a bag of baby spinach minus a little, since that is what I had. I used a medium sized shallot since that is what I had (& I'm not as crazy about onions) I used 3 garlic cloves, because I had fewer greens & I tend to find garlic overpowering. This was just right for me, though most people I know would probably be happy with the whole amount. I will probably try 4 if I have the proper amounts. Also, unfortunately I only had black pepper instead of white. It was still wonderful. I made this with "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" & ham for an easy, quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
It is excellent by itself but on different occasions I have mixed in seasoned chicken and/or also added garlic shrimp to this dish with wonderful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Wow! I have never like vegetables very much. But when I heard how nutrient dense kale was I went searching for how to cook it. I tried this recipe only changing almonds for cashews and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Scholz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States