Dawn's Kale Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made this last night....it was terrific! I used pecans toasted because that's what I had so I can only imagine how good it would be with cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
YUM! This is really good! I did add a tiny splash of white wine (less than 1/4 cup), a sprinkle of grated parmesan cheese on top and toasted pecans in lieu of cashews (out of stock). Fantastic! Even our one family member who usually would not even consider this as edible food liked it, and the rest of us loved it! I am anxious to try it with cashews as written! Thank you for the recipe, Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was a great recipe! My husband and I loved it! Not so many KALE recipes out there to choose from. Thanks again! We will make it again! From Ketchupmustardtak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
It is excellent by itself but on different occasions I have mixed in seasoned chicken and/or also added garlic shrimp to this dish with wonderful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
FYI: garlic should be minced. I failed to write that in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is delicious. I used all kale (approx. 1 lb.), butter instead of olive oil, and almonds instead of cashews. So, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
1st time I have cooked kale! My grandma, who said she hated kale & is extremely finicky about food ate her whole plateful & said she liked it. (She really won't eat it if she doesn't!) My grandpa liked it so much he took my bowl when I had my backed turned to take the cornbread of the oven! :) No leftovers! Changes: Unless you buy raw cashews, they are roasted. I had some & used them. I bet this would be even better with freshly roasted cashews. Wow. I I had used a little of the bunch of kale for another recipe. I tried to cut a bit from the center, places that looked tougher. I used a bag of baby spinach minus a little, since that is what I had. I used a medium sized shallot since that is what I had (& I'm not as crazy about onions) I used 3 garlic cloves, because I had fewer greens & I tend to find garlic overpowering. This was just right for me, though most people I know would probably be happy with the whole amount. I will probably try 4 if I have the proper amounts. Also, unfortunately I only had black pepper instead of white. It was still wonderful. I made this with "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" & ham for an easy, quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
First time I've ever tried kale (picked some up at the farmers market). Wow! This recipe is a keeper. I used butter instead of oil and just toasted the cashews in the butter in the skillet, then removed and started with the onion. I didn't have any garlic so I just sprinkled in some garlic powder. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Loved it!! Easy and delish and so healthy! Added lots more garlic & onion and even some leftover, cooked broccoli rabe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Wow! I have never like vegetables very much. But when I heard how nutrient dense kale was I went searching for how to cook it. I tried this recipe only changing almonds for cashews and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Scholz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States