Dawn's Candied Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This recipe is so easy and they are so good. I was surprised at how easy the sugar was to make, as it sounded complicated. I had never heard of the soft ball stage, but after you tubing it, I understood it better. Got lots of compliments and never come home with extras when I bring them places, thnx for the recipe and other reviews, they very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I almost had certain disaster. I followed the reciped and when I added the walnuts the sauce dried completely - not coating them. I added more milk - put them back on heat and was able to salvage them. My son loved the.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
8 minutes was WAY too long to bake the nuts, mine burned! I did a second batch and roasted them for 4 minutes and they were perfect. I did not like the consistency of the candy. I will stick with the cinnamon roasted almonds recipe on this site and switch out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Followed recipe EXACTLY....absolutely delicious. I imagine you could use any nut in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are addicting! Only thing I would mention is that 1 lb of nuts is too much for the recipe. I found that I had to make 2 batches of the sugar recipe to properly coat 1 lb of walnuts. Other than that a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These tastes so yummy! I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Love this recipe with pecans, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These turned out well I think...are they suppose to be a little grainey/gritty? I used a digital thermometer to make sure i brought the sugar mixture up to the right temp...I'd prolly make them again. My sister (whos a pastry chef lol) suggested lightly salting them as they cool. Wish I would have known that before hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
these are divine. i was confused at first about when to start counting down the '8 minutes'....8 minutes as soon as you put it on the stove? or 8 minutes after it start boiling? so, i just started the 8 minutes as soon as i turned the burner on, while also using a candy thermometer to check the temp...and it worked! did a test batch first, and now that i know this is fool proof, delicious, and hella easy, i will be making a whole bunch of these candied walnuts to give away for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tehani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haiku, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I over cooked the sugar mixture, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States