Dawn's Candied Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
They tasted great, even though I forgot to add the vanilla. I would have liked a little more candy on my walnuts, though, so next time I'll double the recipe for the syrup. I had no trouble with the drying, as the sugar hardened almost immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Harney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I added just a touch of cayenne pepper gave them a little punch. They were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I cooked it to exactly the soft-ball stage, and if still came out too sugary in its constancy....but great flavor! Oh, almost forgot, I also added 1/3 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper, for a little bite. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Voss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These nuts are addicting!! Simple and quick! seriously the whole lot was gone in less than an hour! The directions were spot on (if heat is on medium, 8 minutes is just about right). Wax paper made clean up and separation a cinch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Fabulous! But, like others, I took my eyes off the pot for one minute. Sugar turned completely grainy, but I reconstituted it with milk - one tablespoon at a time. Very forgiving. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
These came out excellent! Used them in my strawberry salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I usually make a thicker gooier more decadent recipe than this but wanted my walnuts light and slightly sweet for a deconstructed apple pie. It turned out perfect. I added a touch of cardamon, since I wanted to incorporate this flavor in my apple pie. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Big hit! Delicious and simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
They tasted great, but I'm no candy maker. The "glaze" didn't coat the walnuts. I used a candy thermometer, and it said it was at the soft ball stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These are great and they made really nice gifts when packaged in a pretty cello bag at christmas time. This recipe will forever be in my christmas candy and cookie line-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delibeanjelly
Home Town: San Andreas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States