Davy's Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was a great start for me. I have turned it into something a bit closer to stroganoff with some sour cream instead of cream of celery, and pumped up the worcestershire. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
We loved this mushroom gravy. I made a few changes. First I used 8oz. of fresh mushrooms that I sauteed in 3 Tblsp. of butter. Then I added all the ingredients, minus the beef and onion. I didn't have cider vinegar or lemon juice so I used 1 Tblsp. of red wine vinegar. Then finished the recipe as per the instructions. It was an amazing and tangy mushroom gravy. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommahyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious, and easy to make. My husband hates mushrooms, so used crm of chix soup, instead of the mushroom soup, & skipped the canned mushrooms. Didn't have any currry powder, so left that out also. I thought it was still pretty thick, so went ahead & added the one cup of water, but NO cornstarch. I wasn't sure what kind of steak sauce to use, but we had A1, so that's what went in the recipe. Served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by June19bride
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Horrific! Every bit of it went in the garbage, save the sample I tasted and gagged on! I am a lover of foods of all kinds, rarely picky but this was BAD! I am a lover of hamburger helper and its generic brothers&sisters and Davy's Gravy is nothing like it! Don't make this, b/c its a waist of your ingredients, which I doubt "davy" is going to reimburse me for. Ew! "chaos is the pot" is more like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June19bride

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Made a decent gravy, I'll do it next time without the steak sauce. I'm not a big fan to begin with. I didn't have any cider vinegar, so I left that out as well. It made a decent meal with egg noodles and I will make it again, just modified to my families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Sorry but I didn't really like it though the kids seemed to think it was ok. It was much to bland for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I really loved this recipe. It is really very simple to make and tastes awesome over mashed potatoes! I have made this recipe a lot, and I enjoy it every single time. Although, I don't add the cornstarch mixture at the end, becuase it doesn't even seem necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I have had this recipe on hand for over a year and knew that it would be a good one for my family. I also knew that it would probably be better if the dish was cooked and then sat all day before reheating for supper. I think that is what worked, because although it is one of the most unpleasant looking dishes you'll ever make, it tastes great! I used the ingredients given, but increased the flavorings a little because I had a bit over 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef. I did not need the corn starch. Even my four picky children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Not very good....can't even think of a suggestion to make it better....just not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States