Davy's Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was a great start for me. I have turned it into something a bit closer to stroganoff with some sour cream instead of cream of celery, and pumped up the worcestershire. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
We loved this mushroom gravy. I made a few changes. First I used 8oz. of fresh mushrooms that I sauteed in 3 Tblsp. of butter. Then I added all the ingredients, minus the beef and onion. I didn't have cider vinegar or lemon juice so I used 1 Tblsp. of red wine vinegar. Then finished the recipe as per the instructions. It was an amazing and tangy mushroom gravy. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommahyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious, and easy to make. My husband hates mushrooms, so used crm of chix soup, instead of the mushroom soup, & skipped the canned mushrooms. Didn't have any currry powder, so left that out also. I thought it was still pretty thick, so went ahead & added the one cup of water, but NO cornstarch. I wasn't sure what kind of steak sauce to use, but we had A1, so that's what went in the recipe. Served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by June19bride
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Horrific! Every bit of it went in the garbage, save the sample I tasted and gagged on! I am a lover of foods of all kinds, rarely picky but this was BAD! I am a lover of hamburger helper and its generic brothers&sisters and Davy's Gravy is nothing like it! Don't make this, b/c its a waist of your ingredients, which I doubt "davy" is going to reimburse me for. Ew! "chaos is the pot" is more like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June19bride

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Made a decent gravy, I'll do it next time without the steak sauce. I'm not a big fan to begin with. I didn't have any cider vinegar, so I left that out as well. It made a decent meal with egg noodles and I will make it again, just modified to my families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Sorry but I didn't really like it though the kids seemed to think it was ok. It was much to bland for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I really loved this recipe. It is really very simple to make and tastes awesome over mashed potatoes! I have made this recipe a lot, and I enjoy it every single time. Although, I don't add the cornstarch mixture at the end, becuase it doesn't even seem necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I have had this recipe on hand for over a year and knew that it would be a good one for my family. I also knew that it would probably be better if the dish was cooked and then sat all day before reheating for supper. I think that is what worked, because although it is one of the most unpleasant looking dishes you'll ever make, it tastes great! I used the ingredients given, but increased the flavorings a little because I had a bit over 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef. I did not need the corn starch. Even my four picky children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Not very good....can't even think of a suggestion to make it better....just not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States