David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
mmm... very good cake especially paired with the right icing (chocolate in my case)i topped the cake with banana slices and strawberries. everyone in the family enjoyed for the most part but thought it wasn't very special and that past recipes for different cakes were better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This cake is the ish! It's kind of dry but tastes so good.. It's better than any box cake and it goes perfect with milk or ice cream.. Try it and you'll see..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JavoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Disclaimer: I didn't use cake flour, I substituted corn starch for some of the flour, but I followed the directions and watched the video This cake tasted pretty good, however, I didn't find it to be exceedingly moist. It reminded me of a tastycake junior in taste and texture (If you're from the Philadelphia area I'm sure you're familiar.) My kids really enjoyed it. I can't say that I'll make it again because it was just good, not great and 8 eggs worth of cake needs to be outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Made this cake for my son's birthday. My son has egg and soy allergies so I had to use a vegan egg yolk replacer made of brewers yeast, and it still turned out amazing! Almost too moist. Can't wait to try it with real egg for my daughter's birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Made this before with cakee flour.This time i'm using all purpose and 2less Tablespoons of that and adding 2T cornstarch.I'm only using 4 whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I wasn't the biggest fan of this recipe. I tried a scaled down version of the recipe and I must say that it did not turn out that great. I followed the recipe to the T with the scaled down ingredients, but it did have more of a cornbreadish, pudding type of taste. A bit too moist. I will try it again and make sure I did not do something wrong, but so far I am not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
best yellow cake i ever made from scratch! even better than cake mix. each time i make it, it gets better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly. I worked side by side with my daughter making 2 batches at once. What a waste of a LOT of eggs. I also thought it came out tasting more like corn bread and with a horrible texture. Also, the cupcakes batch overflowed my cups and made a huge mess in my oven in spite of only filling the cups 1/2 full. The cakes were very brown on top and a toothpick still came out with yuck on it. I was making these for my granddaughters birthday and they are a wash. A huge waste of time and money. I'm in Utah so maybe the altitude had something to do with it??? Try this one with caution.... Cake flour and eggs aren't the most expensive ingredients around, but still I hate to waste food. YUCK! I just want to cry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I will not use another yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 974) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States