David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Made this for my hubby for his birthday and it was AMAZING!!! Neither of us had ever had non boxed yellow cake before.... And considering yellow cake is his favorite.... This will be made every year for his birthday :) It was very moist and flavorful. I didn't have cake flour so I reduced the flour by 4tbsp (2 per cup) and all turned out well. This will def be my go to cake for parties and what not.... So glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a perfect foil for chocolate icing or strawberries and cream. It's very important to follow the instructions exactly and be VERY careful not to overcook. I agree with the reviewer who said that this cake overbaked has the consistency of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I slightly over baked at had a donut like taste/texture. It was good, but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a delicious, moist, classic, homemade cake similar to that which you would find in really old (hard to find these days) church collection recipe books. It's a home baked cake not a box mix, so it's going to taste real, it's quite amazing and my husband loved it...he's from Germany and knows real baking. This is my go to cake recipe. Take your time and do it right, follow it to the T and don't worry about it, it will work out...love this! All these changes, lol..chill ladies it's a fine cake the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great recipe, delicious cake, way better than anything from a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was pretty much a fail. The cake completely fell. The taste of the cake was great, but for some reason it fell. We baked a chocolate cake in the other oven while this one was baking, and that came out perfect. Not likely to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter and it came out like a Starbucks cake pop but dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This worked out great for me, even though I didn't have any cake flour it still turned out really fluffy and moist. I am definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaKirby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Best yellow cake I have made. Blows the cake mix junk out of the water! Its moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have searched many years for the perfect yellow cake recipe and I finally found it! This is the best yellow cake recipe! It comes out perfect and flavorful every time. I now use the same recipe for my basic muffin batter, but I replace cake flour with all purpose to yield a more dense consistency. This should be everyone's go to recipe for yellow cake from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,031) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States