David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I followed the directions exactly and topped the cake with strawberries and whipped cream. This cake was moist, flavorful, and really, really delicious. From someone who used to not like cake, I am converted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made this cake for my coworker's birthday. It was a hit! I made it in 9" round pans and took it out when it sprang back to light touch. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I joined Allrecipes just to rate this. Best cake ever! Before this, I had yet to find a cake that could compare to the moistness of box mix, and the ones that did were too eggy or not sweet enough. This cake was flavorful, moist and amazing. My husband, who is not a huge dessert fan, even raved about it. I may never use cake mix again! Just a caveat: the batter was much thicker than I expected, so much so I had to spread it out in the pan (and I only had 9-inch pans, so it didn't even go all the way to the edge), and I baked at 300 for closer to 45 minutes for a flatter cake…and it still turned out delicious and moist! This really is a fantastic cake recipe and hard to screw up as long as you follow the instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Honestly , one of THE best recipes for yellow cake. First time I made it and it turned out to be EXCELLENT . I did however have to add vanilla coffee creamer because I ran out of vanilla and I added a little cinnamon to the top of the cake to give it a little kick .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This cake is so moist and good. Beat any box cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this tonight, pretty skeptical that it would turn out. I don't have a fantastic track record with yellow cakes. BUT, I followed this to a T and it is amazing: light, fluffy, moist. I won't ever use another yellow cake recipe again. Thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I thought it was closer to a pound cake recipe I had tried before...i am NOT a professional in the food industry, just as plain ole' stay at home mom, but i strive to be awesome at it...especially when there is a birthday party. I tried this recipe for my husband's birthday party yesterday, where there were lots of adults and children. Most of the kids ate it, but several didn't like it, and all the adults had some but when I cleaned up I noticed that not many people ate more than a couple bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Great recipe. Followed directions exactly. Made sure to use cake flour. Cake was moist, light and delicious. Would happily make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
this cake was delicious. Did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweething4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I'm not sure why others complained about a dry cake, ours was super moist and delicious. My only modification was that I used 5 eggs (4 whole eggs and 1 yolk only). I used organic eggs that are not as huge as some in the regular packages. I also beat the sugar and butter a good bit as well as the eggs - adding them one at a time. Follow up: I've made this cake several times now and it has always turned out wonderfully! Will NEVER by a box cake again. :) I didn't have cake flour so I used all purpose flour and reduced the amount by 2 TBS per 1 C of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,017) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States