David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I baked this twice in a row. One full recipe and one half. The cakes for the full recipe came out very flat and one of them lumpy. It could have been from my brother using an electric mixer, or from buttering the pans rather than oiling them. I made the third layer alone to give the cake more height, since the cake seems fine other than being flat. I ran out of butter and used oil to grease the pan, and hand mixed only since my brother was sick of baking lol. The third layer is properly sized, and came out perfectly flat, unlike the other cakes. I don't know what made the difference, but it came out much better, although slightly less yellow around the sides?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I have tried many cake recipes and this is my favorite! People ask me for the recipe! I found that using only 1 cup of sugar rather than 1 and a half gives it just the right amount of sweetness! Its moist and delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
It tastes pretty good, not doubt about it but I must warn that it does taste very similar to just buying yellow cake straight from the box at store. Making it from scratch just taste slightly but I mean SLIGHTLY freshier compared to getting it from the box. I'm sorry, but I'm sticking with the one in the box since the taste is so similar to me can't tell the difference all too much but I still had fun making it and everyone enjoyed it so it was not a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I make this cake all time and never has it come out as cornbread...Follow the directions and bake for 25 in a PREHEATED oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Marie Grissett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I tried several different recipes and this is by far the best! Followed directions directly and it was tasty and moist. I am even at 5400 feet altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I am never making boxed cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Amazing! I made as directed into cupcakes for a birthday party, everyone loved them. Better than Wegmans bakery, which is saving a lot. I topped them with a popular buttercream from this site. Thanks for my new favored cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
DOES DAVID HAVE OTHER RECIPE's??? LOL! I've been baking professionally for years, this by far is my new recipe. I double the recipe and make three fluffy tiers. its perfect! Its fluffy, moist and tasty. I use 1/2 tsp of vanilla nut extract, 2 tsp of butter eXtract and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Sounds like a like but the combo of those flavors are signature and not overwhelming. The butter extract adds a rich buttery flavor. i make Swiss Merigne Buttercream with all the leftover egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
We made this for a large group dinner and it was fabulous! Topped with chocolate frosting made it a classic flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as it was written and I was very disappointed. Even after greasing and flouring the pan, the cake stuck to the pan and the texture was bread like. The taste was OK. I would not make it again without a lot of modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,059) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States