David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was a delicious, MOIST cake with a VERY tender crumb. I will never, ever use a boxed mix again! It is by far the best cake recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Definitely the best yellow cake recipe I have ever tried. I made this for my son's birthday and everyone commented on how good it was. I would say its important to follow standard cake making steps like adding the yolks one at a time and making sure that the butter and sugar are creamed well. I was worried when I read the review that compared it to cornbread, but there is no resemblance between the two. Thanks for contributing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have searched far and wide for the perfect yellow cake recipe and after many years if trial and error I have found this is the only one that is perfect. Don't hesitate to try out the recipe. I am so glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe bakes into a fine-textured, light, moist yellow cake. I served it with a generous dollop of Greek Gods honey yogurt. No need to frost! Delicious!! I will make this again using Egg Beaters and vegan margarine to see if a healthier version can compare favorably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipie was fenomenal, i got rave reviews on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Just made this recipe and it was AMAZING! Followed directions exactly for batter but made cupcakes. They baked for about 20 minutes. My 3 year old who usually only licks the frosting off of cake ate 2 of them before we could even frost them. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Nicole Rainey
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I recently made this cake. It was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Nicole Rainey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe and here's MY opinion of it. First off it made one 9.5" and three 6" round cakes. I used butter instead of shortening (as there's a version of this same recipe that calls for butter in lieu of shortening) and I followed everything else to a T! I do like the recipe as my cakes came out fluffy and moist! The one thing that I find is, the cake could be a little sweeter. I am a cake baker/decorator for many years now and I think I'm going to start using this recipe (+ an additional 1/2c sugar) as the base for my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLove2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Turned out FANTASTIC! I used a cream cheese frosting on top and it was amazing, eaten by the family in just one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,090) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States