David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I used this recipe for my up-side-down pineapple cherry cake and it is AMAZING! Two changes I made... 1- increased milk to 1 cup and 2- I baked for 75 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Bunker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I added buttermilk instead of milk and it worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeShalon Brownlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I took it out of the oven to let cool and it shrunk together to about 2/3 of its size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made a delicious Pineapple upside down cake today using this for the cake instead of a box mix. It was moist and very flavorful. I will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Undoubtedly THE best yellow cake I've ever had, a sentiment shared by each member of my family, INCLUDING my impossible to please mother in law. Easy to make, surprising light, velvet smooth. The cake flour makes all the difference, don't cut that corner. I used the sour cream frosting recipe from this site, added mini chocolate chips between the layers and on top. SOOOOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
If you want a super moist yellow cake look no further. It's super delicious, soft and moist. It doesn't taste eggy the flavors are very balanced and perfect. I followed the recipe to the t except I used regular flour since I didn't have cake flour if you do that remember to omit 2 tbsp flour for each cup of flour. Believe me this is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I took the advice and just used regular all purpose flour and 8 whole eggs instead of only the yolks. I made 24 regular sized cupcakes with this recipe, and they came out so good. I can see why some people would say they are cornbread-esque. But they are a big-crumbed yellow cake, very delicious-- but if you are looking for a fine crumb or something light and airy this isn't it. This is a dense, moist yellow cake. It's exactly what I was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I ended up adding about 1/2 the whites and a bit more milk but the cake is awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This recipe was gooey and tasted like eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,093) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States