David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
It tastes pretty good, not doubt about it but I must warn that it does taste very similar to just buying yellow cake straight from the box at store. Making it from scratch just taste slightly but I mean SLIGHTLY freshier compared to getting it from the box. I'm sorry, but I'm sticking with the one in the box since the taste is so similar to me can't tell the difference all too much but I still had fun making it and everyone enjoyed it so it was not a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I make this cake all time and never has it come out as cornbread...Follow the directions and bake for 25 in a PREHEATED oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I tried several different recipes and this is by far the best! Followed directions directly and it was tasty and moist. I am even at 5400 feet altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I am never making boxed cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Amazing! I made as directed into cupcakes for a birthday party, everyone loved them. Better than Wegmans bakery, which is saving a lot. I topped them with a popular buttercream from this site. Thanks for my new favored cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
DOES DAVID HAVE OTHER RECIPE's??? LOL! I've been baking professionally for years, this by far is my new recipe. I double the recipe and make three fluffy tiers. its perfect! Its fluffy, moist and tasty. I use 1/2 tsp of vanilla nut extract, 2 tsp of butter eXtract and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Sounds like a like but the combo of those flavors are signature and not overwhelming. The butter extract adds a rich buttery flavor. i make Swiss Merigne Buttercream with all the leftover egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
We made this for a large group dinner and it was fabulous! Topped with chocolate frosting made it a classic flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as it was written and I was very disappointed. Even after greasing and flouring the pan, the cake stuck to the pan and the texture was bread like. The taste was OK. I would not make it again without a lot of modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candles430
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
No changes were made at all! This cakes was fabulous as is! Thank you David! If using a darker coated pan reduce to 325 and start checking for doneness at 25-27 minutes...(my bottom layer was a bit browner however still same moistness because I forgot you are supposed to account for the dark coated pan. My top layer came out perfect when I adjusted the temp...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
It came out really dense and did taste like cornbread in a weird way. It didn't taste like yellow cake I am just guessing but I think its because of the amount of eggs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,027) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States