David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Dave, You promised a moist cake and you did not disappoint. Hands down the best yellow cake recipe I have encountered. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This cake is awesome! Iit is a foolproof recipe. I think it is key cream together the butter and sugar very well. It may take 5 minutes for it to get light and fluffy. I also used for whole eggs as another reviewer said and it turned out perfect. I added a thin layer of raspberry jam in between each layer of cake and it was awesome! Everyone at my daughters 1st birthday love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera Byard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was my first time ever baking a cake from scratch. Followed the recipe and nailed it! Super moist. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Other than my Grandma's pound cake, this is the only cake I make. Sweet, moist, rich and delicious enough to eat right out of the pan without frosting, though it is fabulous with chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! I have tried several different cake recipes and have never been successful . They are either too dense or too dry. This cake turned out great! My husband loved his birthday cake and my kids were impressed that I made it from scratch. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this cake exactly as the recipe states for cupcakes. It was wonderful! The cupcakes were moist and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This cake was sooo dry. So close to cornbread just like other reviews mentioned. Even though the cake was not a huge hit, I would still choose this cake over a store bought cake filled with ingredients you cannot pronounce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This cake was easy to make - However, it does get dry fast so ideally you should plan to eat this at the event you make for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
My auntie is an amazing cook/baker. She doesn't like yellow cake or sweets that much, but she LOVED this. I made substitutions based off Theresa's review, so I used 1 1/4c. buttermilk instead of milk, and used 5 eggs total, 3 eggs + 2 egg yolks only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, and it baked up very moist, tender, and sweet. I usually do not enjoy yellow cake, because it is so often dry, but this was very tender and delicious. One of the other posters was correct - this cake does have an eggy, almost custard-like taste while it's warm, but that egg taste does dissipate once it's cooled. I was a bit concerned when I tasted the toothpick I had used to test the center. It tasted like a custard to me. But I had read that the egg flavor goes away, and so it did. You do not need to adjust the amount of egg yolks, because that is what gives it that yellow color and tender crumb. Don't over bake it, let it cool completely, and that custard flavor will mellow. It is important to periodically test with a toothpick; the spring test is not reliable. There should be moist crumbs clinging to the toothpick. If it comes out wet, give it a few more minutes and test again. If it comes out perfectly clean, it is overdone and will be dry. If there are still moist crumbs clinging, it's perfect. One more thing is that I would recommend adding a circle of parchment paper, greased and floured, to the bottom of the pan to encourage quick release. It is VERY important to grease and flour the pan, and a good idea to add that parchment circle, as the cake is so tender that it will fall apart if it sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,047) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States