David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe bakes into a fine-textured, light, moist yellow cake. I served it with a generous dollop of Greek Gods honey yogurt. No need to frost! Delicious!! I will make this again using Egg Beaters and vegan margarine to see if a healthier version can compare favorably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipie was fenomenal, i got rave reviews on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Just made this recipe and it was AMAZING! Followed directions exactly for batter but made cupcakes. They baked for about 20 minutes. My 3 year old who usually only licks the frosting off of cake ate 2 of them before we could even frost them. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Nicole Rainey
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I recently made this cake. It was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Nicole Rainey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe and here's MY opinion of it. First off it made one 9.5" and three 6" round cakes. I used butter instead of shortening (as there's a version of this same recipe that calls for butter in lieu of shortening) and I followed everything else to a T! I do like the recipe as my cakes came out fluffy and moist! The one thing that I find is, the cake could be a little sweeter. I am a cake baker/decorator for many years now and I think I'm going to start using this recipe (+ an additional 1/2c sugar) as the base for my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLove2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Turned out FANTASTIC! I used a cream cheese frosting on top and it was amazing, eaten by the family in just one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Best cake recipe EVER!! Thank you thank you thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
The ONLY reason I am giving this cake recipe four stars instead of five is due to my modification of the recipe. I did not want to waste eight egg whites. I wouldn't have used them for anything, so I decided to substitute four duck eggs for the eight egg yolks. Cake turned out amazing. It's very sweet and moist. Will definitely use this recipe over and over, with the simple egg switch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Dave, You promised a moist cake and you did not disappoint. Hands down the best yellow cake recipe I have encountered. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,046) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States