David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great recipe! I creamed the butter and sugar thoroughly for several minutes and made sure everything was room temp. My batter was a bit thicker than I'm used to but the cake was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I have tried a variety of cakes and recently started learning techniques in patisserie, and while the French are not typically known for cakes - this cake could change their minds. I made this cake with a chocolate ganache, then made a strawberry swiss meringue buttercream to seal the prized cake. It was fabulous, light, airy, with a small crumb and delicate texture that was still able to stand up to a dark chocolate ganache. Think of a Neapolitan that has been elevated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very tasty! It tastes likes its from a bakery! My only substitutions (especially for those who said it tastes like cornbread) is to add more sugar! I added an extra 1/3 cup and followed the directions and it came out good. It took longer than 30 minutes to bake but nonetheless my husband and I enjoyed it. This cake was the last piece that made our anniversary special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I am very new to baking from scratch. I felt very apprehensive about this recipe because of the varied reviews, but I gave it a shot. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I subbed all purpose flour for cake flour. I thought the cake was fantastic- I experienced none of the issues with dryness that others have mentioned and I really liked the flavor. I thought it tasted just like a yellow cake should. This is a great recipe for bakers of any skill level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Best yellow cake I have ever baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Wonderful yellow cake. It turned out moist and fluffy. The only thing i did different was adding lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is so very good. I have made this both with regular flour (when I lazily didn't feel like going to the store since I was out of cake flour) and then again with cake flour. While both were good, the cake flour makes a big difference--it was was much more delicate and not as heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This cake is soooo good. It's everything I was searching for. Moist, fluffy texture. Perfectly sweet, buttery flavor. I will look no further. As for the extra whites...make a meringue for a pie...try a healthy omelet, but this recipe needs no alterations. Cream the sugar and butter well. Don't over mix once you start with that flour. If you develop too much gluten, your cake will be tough. I don't even wait until all the flour is fully incorporated to start adding milk. Start and end with dry. 3 dry, 2 wet, alternating fairly quickly. Don't overbake. Bake til it's done...different ovens and other factors like elevation will affect cooking time. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I love this recipe! Now I did tweak it a little bit and I'm sure all those health nuts out there would cringe but instead of using 8 egg yolks and not having a need for the whites, I used 5 whole eggs :) It turned out so moist and fluffy I didn't even need to put icing on it. My husband who is not a big on sweets/deserts loves this cake! Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My cake pans were 9 inch so I made one and a half recipes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States