David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This recipe is very good - but I have to admit I changed it a bit. Instead of milk I added buttermilk and I also added a little extra (half a cup) of sugar) because I also added about a half of cup of flour. I used cake flour and I used 4 eggs instead of 8 yolks. The most significant thing I did was add 3/4 of a cup of "boiling water" as the LAST ingredient. The batter looks a little thin but it makes a very moist cake. I have a 70 year old chocolate cake recipe that is similar and the best ever chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I let the butter and eggs come to room temp. I whipped the butter and sugar quite a bit. Added the egg yokes one at a time and whipped that quite a bit as well. Sifted the dry ingredients 3 times and added them alternately with the milk with my kitchenaid on stir. Turned out great as cupcakes. Baked roughly 15 minutes. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Antoinette Jackson
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I think this is the best yellow cake recipe.! I love yellow cake but could never quite get it the way that I like it. This cake is moist and a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I used this recipe for my up-side-down pineapple cherry cake and it is AMAZING! Two changes I made... 1- increased milk to 1 cup and 2- I baked for 75 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Bunker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I added buttermilk instead of milk and it worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeShalon Brownlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This did not turn out in any way. I do bake a lot (almost every week) and have quite some expierence and try a lot of new recipies but this was probably the worst I ever made. In the oven it loked amazing and rose up very well but once I took it out of the oven to let cool it shrunk together to about 2/3 of its size. I had it cool for quite some time but once I cut into it I realized there was no hope. It had turned into a super dense mushy something I would not call cake. I gave it a second try and baked it over 10 minutes longer but it turned out exactly the same than the first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made a delicious Pineapple upside down cake today using this for the cake instead of a box mix. It was moist and very flavorful. I will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Undoubtedly THE best yellow cake I've ever had, a sentiment shared by each member of my family, INCLUDING my impossible to please mother in law. Easy to make, surprising light, velvet smooth. The cake flour makes all the difference, don't cut that corner. I used the sour cream frosting recipe from this site, added mini chocolate chips between the layers and on top. SOOOOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
If you want a super moist yellow cake look no further. It's super delicious, soft and moist. It doesn't taste eggy the flavors are very balanced and perfect. I followed the recipe to the t except I used regular flour since I didn't have cake flour if you do that remember to omit 2 tbsp flour for each cup of flour. Believe me this is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,046) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States