David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I had 8 yolks left over from Swiss meringue buttercream and just had to try this recipe. I baked it into 24 cupcakes at 375 for about 18 minutes. They started to sink a bit when I took them out of the oven, so I was worried they would be a mess. However, they turned out to hold up fine. The main point is, this is THE BEST vanilla/yellow cake I've ever tasted. It's so moist that it kicks cake mix out of the ballgame. The taste is truly buttery, yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Excellent flavor but too dry for my taste. I even took it out of the oven early when there was still some liquidy dough on the knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Excellent! Butter and eggs should be at room temperature. I usually make this as cupcakes, bake for about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Great recipe! I think I mixed mine too long in the last step (helps to read ahead and know what you're doing), or perhaps it was the handful of cherries I added that made this actually too moist. Of course that was my fault though-the recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Moist and delicious, but denser than I expected... I measured in metric, creamed the heck outta that butter, and mixed the flour sparingly, but somehow it still came out too dense. I'll try again, maybe with newer baking powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I love yellow cake, so this was my first attempt at making it from scratch. The texture was perfect and it was soft and moist. The only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars is I think the recipe calls for too much salt. The flavor was very good, yet there was a distinct salty flavor with it. Maybe it is supposed to be like that, but I didn't like it. I'll either half the salt next time or eliminate it all together. The person I made it for had no complaints at all and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Fleet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Wonderful cake! Just the way a homemade cake should be. I have made it twice now, using the AP flour & corn starch substitution, and using 4 whole eggs instead of 8 yellows. My son and his friends loved it! I make a lemonade buttercream icing with it, and it is a luscious combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
The batter was wonderful (yes I tasted it). I checked after 20 minutes and it was spilling over the sides and all over my oven. I used two 8" pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spicer216
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This is without a doubt, the best yellow cake recipe! I've made it, at least, 5 times so far and I don't change a thing except to make only 3/4 recipe, simply because that size fits my 9"x7" Pyrex dish, which has a snap-on cover. Aiming to please...the cake in this pic has a section of chocolate butter cream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Hubby loved the taste. I was unhappy with the appearance. My cake also caved in the center. I followed the recipe to a T. I creamed my butter and sugar over 5 minutes in my stand mixer to ensure a fluffy peak. I did not deviate from the instructed 8 egg yolks and wonder if that is the reason for the cave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,090) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States