David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by spicer216
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This is without a doubt, the best yellow cake recipe! I've made it, at least, 5 times so far and I don't change a thing except to make only 3/4 recipe, simply because that size fits my 9"x7" Pyrex dish, which has a snap-on cover. Aiming to please...the cake in this pic has a section of chocolate butter cream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Hubby loved the taste. I was unhappy with the appearance. My cake also caved in the center. I followed the recipe to a T. I creamed my butter and sugar over 5 minutes in my stand mixer to ensure a fluffy peak. I did not deviate from the instructed 8 egg yolks and wonder if that is the reason for the cave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This cake is amazing. I used four egg yolks and two eggs as suggested. My husband thought it tasted like it was from whole foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is the perfect yellow cake! Always a winner in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
- 2 Tbl of all purpose flour per cup if not using cake flou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made sure everything was beaten well and added corn starch 2tbsp in place of 2tbsp flour and this turned out great. I made cupcakes with them and frosted with Rocks special frosting and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Taste was great. But I overbaked this cake. One minute the toothpick was 'goopy,' and literally the next minute the cake was overdone. Disappointed, since the cake took a LOT of time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I cut this recipe in half, filled the bottom of a cast iron skillet with butter, brown sugar and pineapple, poured the batter over and baked. This is the best yellow cake I've made, by far. I followed the directions exactly except for leaving out the tablespoon of flour when using all purpose. It's perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I've been looking for a good yellow cake recipe and this was truly fluffy with great taste. I used 4 eggs and subtracted 2 tbsp flour and added 2 tbsp cornstarch. My cupcakes were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Thank you David!! This recipe most certainly is amazing. I did change a couple things though, not because I thought your recipe was lacking, but because I have a deep palette and love to over-indulge on flavor (lol): - I replaced the milk with equal portions of buttermilk/half & half - I used 1.5 Tbsp of vanilla (I'm a vanilla ) - I used unsalted butter (it seems to cream better with sugar for me), and added 1/4 tsp salt to the recipe, mixing it in with the flour (as the recipe calls for) - I baked in a glass pyrex for probably 35-40 minutes Not that your recipe called for this, but I did use my kitchen aid mixer. The cake was DELICIOUS!!! Extremely moist, perfectly done, and made my entire house smell like twinkles!! I thank you tremendously for sharing this recipe with everyone, and completely concur - it's by FAR the best recipe I've tried. I cannot wait to use this as a base for my twinkie trifle, apple cinnamon swirl bundt cake, and blueberry cake! Thanks again, my friends and family will be thanking me because of you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,082) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States