David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is hands down the best yellow cake recipe I've ever tried. I have made it several times and it's always great. If you follow the directions precisely and are sure not to overwork the flour, it will come out moist and delicate. The only problem I have with this recipe is that I can't seem to find the right frosting to go with it. It has such a great, light flavor, and I feel like all the frostings I have tried have overwhelmed its flavor. I've considered serving it with just a dusting of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is absolutely the perfect yellow layer cake recipe. It bakes up perfect level layers, handles easily, cuts easily without crumbling and has the perfect level of moistness. Everyone raved about it....thank you! I will never use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRGeep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is the best yellow cake i've ever made. I made this cake several times. Everybody loves it. But instead of 8 egg yolk, I use 4 whole eggs. BEST CAKE EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Made this tonight. In a 6 inch pan for a cake. Batter is great and the overall taste of the cake came out great! It took about 45 mins and yet it sunk in the middle. Not sure why. Maybe I'll do 6-7 egg yolks instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe is exquisite! The best yellow cake I've had- hands down. I made it for my fiance's birthday and he hasn't stopped raving. I didn't have enough eggs so I used 4 whole eggs instead of 8 yolks- worked out great. Moist and fluffy and so flavorful- even at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I was looking for a yellow cake because another recipe I wanted to use called for a boxed mix and I really hate those. So while making a "honey bun" cake I used this recipe and it made a fantastically moist and light cake . This is my go to base recipe from now on! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Kimble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This recipe was so delicious. I'm a frosting kind of girl. I could eat spoonfuls of frosting and just leave the cake. Not with this cake! I haven't even frosted it yet, but I tried a little bit of the cake by itself. I could eat the whole thing by itself-even sans frosting! It didn't turn out dry at all. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This Cake was AMAZING!!! ITS the best! i read most of the other reviews and made some changes. 1) i sifted the flour mixture twice 2) instead of 8 yolks i used 3 eggs (whites and yolks ) and added 2 yolks so i only needed 5 eggs instead 8. 3)i mixed the flour and milk in 3 additions starting and ending with the flour. 4) i didn't have any cake flour so i minuses per cup 2 table spoons of flour and added 2 tbsp of corn flour the cake was amazing and i even made cupcakes with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I own the Wilton teddy bear cake pan. I searched for a recipe for it. I found lots of decoration tips and instruction but no recipe for a cake. I found a table for how much cake batter to use: enough for two 8 in pans. So, I tried this recipe. I cooked for 30 min because the middle was quite soft. I also used the convection feature after 20 min. It came out great. Followed the recipe just as written. Tastes great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I love this recipe. The only thing I changed was the amount of eggs. I added 4 large eggs instead of 8 egg yolks. It turned out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,059) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States