David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Turned out great! I baked 28 minutes. Made it for my husband's birthday and he loved it. I even ended up using about 1/2 cup whole grain flour since I had that mixed into my all-purpose flour. Came out soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I am SO TICKED OFF!!!! LOL Ticked off that I waited so long to try this recipe!! THE CAKE IS THE BOMB!! Listen I have tried a ton of scratch yellow cakes This one is FAR the BEST!! It has that boxed cake texture without the boxed cake taste! Its Delicious! I cant say enough about this recipe! I can tell you this i will be deleting every yellow cake recipe Iv saved I have no need for them!This is the only recipe you will need!!! It is seriously that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Wow I'd give this recipe 100 stars if I could! Have tried many recipes for yellow cake and have been disappointed every time. This is bar none the best yellow cake ever! I followed the recipe exactly except for the cream butter and sugar method. I mixed only slightly softened butter for 60 seconds before I added sugar. I never knew that you could actually over cream your butter and sugar resulting in a tough cake. Full instructions for creaming butter and sugar on crafty baking.com. Thank you sooooo much David!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
This cake is completely delicious. The only complaint i had was it came out way to dry and crumbly. I added 5 caps (yes i filled the cap) of veggie oil to the recipe, and this came out moist and delicious and yummm....used it for cupcakes with an eggless cookie dough frosting for a girls slumber party....thanks to this cake recipe I was a hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Really, really good. Very moist, followed the instructions exactly and the cake came right out of the pan cleanly which I always appreciate. I used this recipe to make a minion cake for my son's birthday and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Trancoso
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I love this recipe! Instead of frosting, I whipped some heavy cream, vanilla, & sugar and mixed it with freshly-chopped pineapple and spread the luscious mixture in between the cakes. No dryness detected! I wish i could share the picture. It's long gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Trancoso
Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I am not a baker but followed this recipe carefully. It turned out to be spectacular! I've been looking for a good classic yellow cake recipe and I've finally found one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Dougherty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I was a little nervous to try this recipe after reading many negative reviews about it tasting like dry cornbread but I followed Naples advice and this cake came out fantastic. I was very pleased that this cake turned out very moist and fluffy and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I had 8 yolks left over from Swiss meringue buttercream and just had to try this recipe. I baked it into 24 cupcakes at 375 for about 18 minutes. They started to sink a bit when I took them out of the oven, so I was worried they would be a mess. However, they turned out to hold up fine. The main point is, this is THE BEST vanilla/yellow cake I've ever tasted. It's so moist that it kicks cake mix out of the ballgame. The taste is truly buttery, yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Excellent flavor but too dry for my taste. I even took it out of the oven early when there was still some liquidy dough on the knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,098) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States