David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I cut this recipe in half, filled the bottom of a cast iron skillet with butter, brown sugar and pineapple, poured the batter over and baked. This is the best yellow cake I've made, by far. I followed the directions exactly except for leaving out the tablespoon of flour when using all purpose. It's perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I've been looking for a good yellow cake recipe and this was truly fluffy with great taste. I used 4 eggs and subtracted 2 tbsp flour and added 2 tbsp cornstarch. My cupcakes were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Thank you David!! This recipe most certainly is amazing. I did change a couple things though, not because I thought your recipe was lacking, but because I have a deep palette and love to over-indulge on flavor (lol): - I replaced the milk with equal portions of buttermilk/half & half - I used 1.5 Tbsp of vanilla (I'm a vanilla ) - I used unsalted butter (it seems to cream better with sugar for me), and added 1/4 tsp salt to the recipe, mixing it in with the flour (as the recipe calls for) - I baked in a glass pyrex for probably 35-40 minutes Not that your recipe called for this, but I did use my kitchen aid mixer. The cake was DELICIOUS!!! Extremely moist, perfectly done, and made my entire house smell like twinkles!! I thank you tremendously for sharing this recipe with everyone, and completely concur - it's by FAR the best recipe I've tried. I cannot wait to use this as a base for my twinkie trifle, apple cinnamon swirl bundt cake, and blueberry cake! Thanks again, my friends and family will be thanking me because of you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I've made this recipe many times and followed it explicitly. I've always had trouble with the baking time, but it turns out well, still moist and fluffy. This time, I lacked milk and good baking powder, so I improvised with the help of Google searches and experimentation to ensure that the resulting combination reacted well and tasted fine. Instead of 3/4 quarter cup milk, I used about 2/3 plain 3% yogurt, which tasted light and sour. And I used 1/2 tsp fresh baking soda. These were added separately. For the first 30 minutes i placed it on a higher rack, then moved the cake one rack lower. I baked for a total of 45 minutes. It browned nicely all over, and the top is fluffy and golden. The middle did poof up, then it sunk a little. Tasted even better and was more most with the yogurt than with milk! For icing,i cooked 1/2 cup of the yogurt and 1 cup granulated white sugar until smooth and a little bit more viscous. I added more sugar because it was not sweet enough. You could still taste the sourness AI've made this recipe many times and followed it explicitly. I've always had trouble with the baking time, but it turns out well, still moist and fluffy. This time, I lacked milk and good baking powder, so I improvised with the help of Google searches and experimentation to ensure that the resulting combination reacted well and tasted fine. Instead of 3/4 quarter cup milk, I used about 2/3 plain 3% yogurt, which tasted light and sour. And I used 1/2 tsp fresh baking soda. Thes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Made it and loved it! Super moist! Just perfect yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Nasty cornbread. Turned into crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legos2stilettos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
All I can say is mehhhh....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Really enjoy this recipe..I had to put my own spin to it??...thanks again for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
My family loved this cake. It was moist and fluffy with no crumbling of the cake. Easy directions to follow. I will definitely be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,076) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States