David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
All I can say is mehhhh....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Really enjoy this recipe..I had to put my own spin to it??...thanks again for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
My family loved this cake. It was moist and fluffy with no crumbling of the cake. Easy directions to follow. I will definitely be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
It tasted more like corn bread to me. It was a bit dense and not as fluffy as I'd like but I blame that on using all purpose flour and not cake flour (although I did sift the flour about 5 times)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seth-Elizabeth Irwin
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Light and fluffy is what i got. Plus it was tasty! I just altered it a little. I didn't have cake flour so I used all purpose flour took two tbsps out and added two tbsps of corn starch (another way of making cake flour). Instead of egg yolks I used 4 whole large eggs and used low-fat buttermilk instead of milk. I made mini cupcakes and we're in the oven for about 15 minutes at 350°F. Hope that helps a few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Never fails. Have made this recipe many times and it's always delicious. If you like boxed cakes - you will probably not like this. It's different (IMO much better)but if you have only made boxed cakes this will be really different. I always have my eggs and butter room temp before baking this. Have made it as a sheet cake, as a double layer, and as a triple layer cake (just adjusting the times). If I make it as a layer cake I make a simple chocolate truffle filling for in between layers then a chocolate ganache for the outside but it's delicious as is without any frosting or filling. My daughter likes orange in her cakes so I mix in a bit of orange zest if I'm making it for her. I have also made it with 3 egg yolks and 2 whole eggs (when I didn't have enough eggs) and that worked out ok too. I prefer the original recipe but sometimes have to improvise. The recipe is solid and reliable as is :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I followed the recipe to a T and really creamed my butter and sugar well. This cake came out very dense and a bit dry. I did like the flavor but not the texture. For all the work of separating 8 eggs just for the yolks I just don't think it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Wonderful cake. Made it twice last week. First one was a "test" second one was for a birthday. Followed the reviews and used just 4 eggs on the first one and it was fine. Frosted with a no bake marshmallow frosting that was perfect for this cake. Had extra egg yolks from the frostings that I saved for the second cake. On the second cake I used 3 eggs and the 2 yolks that I had saved. It was a bit richer but still a great cake. I put a raspberry filling in both cakes. After frosting I used a zester to grate some dark chocolate on top. This was all super simple and looked great. BEST YELLOW CAKE recipe I have made. It will be on the top of my list from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Amazingly fluffy! The most light, yet moist, yellow cake ever with no sinking in the center. Just flawless if you use Madagascar Vanilla Beans!! No icing required! This is a go to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My cake was welllllllll..hummm ! A floppy not the recipe it was me.....going to go sit down and cry! ...mama t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,069) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States