David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was a delicious, MOIST cake with a VERY tender crumb. I will never, ever use a boxed mix again! It is by far the best cake recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Definitely the best yellow cake recipe I have ever tried. I made this for my son's birthday and everyone commented on how good it was. I would say its important to follow standard cake making steps like adding the yolks one at a time and making sure that the butter and sugar are creamed well. I was worried when I read the review that compared it to cornbread, but there is no resemblance between the two. Thanks for contributing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have searched far and wide for the perfect yellow cake recipe and after many years if trial and error I have found this is the only one that is perfect. Don't hesitate to try out the recipe. I am so glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe bakes into a fine-textured, light, moist yellow cake. I served it with a generous dollop of Greek Gods honey yogurt. No need to frost! Delicious!! I will make this again using Egg Beaters and vegan margarine to see if a healthier version can compare favorably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipie was fenomenal, i got rave reviews on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Just made this recipe and it was AMAZING! Followed directions exactly for batter but made cupcakes. They baked for about 20 minutes. My 3 year old who usually only licks the frosting off of cake ate 2 of them before we could even frost them. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jae
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I recently made this cake. It was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe and here's MY opinion of it. First off it made one 9.5" and three 6" round cakes. I used butter instead of shortening (as there's a version of this same recipe that calls for butter in lieu of shortening) and I followed everything else to a T! I do like the recipe as my cakes came out fluffy and moist! The one thing that I find is, the cake could be a little sweeter. I am a cake baker/decorator for many years now and I think I'm going to start using this recipe (+ an additional 1/2c sugar) as the base for my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLove2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Turned out FANTASTIC! I used a cream cheese frosting on top and it was amazing, eaten by the family in just one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States