David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
- 2 Tbl of all purpose flour per cup if not using cake flou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made sure everything was beaten well and added corn starch 2tbsp in place of 2tbsp flour and this turned out great. I made cupcakes with them and frosted with Rocks special frosting and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Taste was great. But I overbaked this cake. One minute the toothpick was 'goopy,' and literally the next minute the cake was overdone. Disappointed, since the cake took a LOT of time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I cut this recipe in half, filled the bottom of a cast iron skillet with butter, brown sugar and pineapple, poured the batter over and baked. This is the best yellow cake I've made, by far. I followed the directions exactly except for leaving out the tablespoon of flour when using all purpose. It's perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I've been looking for a good yellow cake recipe and this was truly fluffy with great taste. I used 4 eggs and subtracted 2 tbsp flour and added 2 tbsp cornstarch. My cupcakes were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Thank you David!! This recipe most certainly is amazing. I did change a couple things though, not because I thought your recipe was lacking, but because I have a deep palette and love to over-indulge on flavor (lol): - I replaced the milk with equal portions of buttermilk/half & half - I used 1.5 Tbsp of vanilla (I'm a vanilla ) - I used unsalted butter (it seems to cream better with sugar for me), and added 1/4 tsp salt to the recipe, mixing it in with the flour (as the recipe calls for) - I baked in a glass pyrex for probably 35-40 minutes Not that your recipe called for this, but I did use my kitchen aid mixer. The cake was DELICIOUS!!! Extremely moist, perfectly done, and made my entire house smell like twinkles!! I thank you tremendously for sharing this recipe with everyone, and completely concur - it's by FAR the best recipe I've tried. I cannot wait to use this as a base for my twinkie trifle, apple cinnamon swirl bundt cake, and blueberry cake! Thanks again, my friends and family will be thanking me because of you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I've made this recipe many times and followed it explicitly. I've always had trouble with the baking time, but it turns out well, still moist and fluffy. This time, I lacked milk and good baking powder, so I improvised with the help of Google searches and experimentation to ensure that the resulting combination reacted well and tasted fine. Instead of 3/4 quarter cup milk, I used about 2/3 plain 3% yogurt, which tasted light and sour. And I used 1/2 tsp fresh baking soda. These were added separately. For the first 30 minutes i placed it on a higher rack, then moved the cake one rack lower. I baked for a total of 45 minutes. It browned nicely all over, and the top is fluffy and golden. The middle did poof up, then it sunk a little. Tasted even better and was more most with the yogurt than with milk! For icing,i cooked 1/2 cup of the yogurt and 1 cup granulated white sugar until smooth and a little bit more viscous. I added more sugar because it was not sweet enough. You could still taste the sourness AI've made this recipe many times and followed it explicitly. I've always had trouble with the baking time, but it turns out well, still moist and fluffy. This time, I lacked milk and good baking powder, so I improvised with the help of Google searches and experimentation to ensure that the resulting combination reacted well and tasted fine. Instead of 3/4 quarter cup milk, I used about 2/3 plain 3% yogurt, which tasted light and sour. And I used 1/2 tsp fresh baking soda. Thes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Made it and loved it! Super moist! Just perfect yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Turned into crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legos2stilettos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,078) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States