David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I love yellow cake, so this was my first attempt at making it from scratch. The texture was perfect and it was soft and moist. The only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars is I think the recipe calls for too much salt. The flavor was very good, yet there was a distinct salty flavor with it. Maybe it is supposed to be like that, but I didn't like it. I'll either half the salt next time or eliminate it all together. The person I made it for had no complaints at all and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Fleet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Wonderful cake! Just the way a homemade cake should be. I have made it twice now, using the AP flour & corn starch substitution, and using 4 whole eggs instead of 8 yellows. My son and his friends loved it! I make a lemonade buttercream icing with it, and it is a luscious combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
The batter was wonderful (yes I tasted it). I checked after 20 minutes and it was spilling over the sides and all over my oven. I used two 8" pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spicer216
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This is without a doubt, the best yellow cake recipe! I've made it, at least, 5 times so far and I don't change a thing except to make only 3/4 recipe, simply because that size fits my 9"x7" Pyrex dish, which has a snap-on cover. Aiming to please...the cake in this pic has a section of chocolate butter cream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Hubby loved the taste. I was unhappy with the appearance. My cake also caved in the center. I followed the recipe to a T. I creamed my butter and sugar over 5 minutes in my stand mixer to ensure a fluffy peak. I did not deviate from the instructed 8 egg yolks and wonder if that is the reason for the cave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This cake is amazing. I used four egg yolks and two eggs as suggested. My husband thought it tasted like it was from whole foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is the perfect yellow cake! Always a winner in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
- 2 Tbl of all purpose flour per cup if not using cake flou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made sure everything was beaten well and added corn starch 2tbsp in place of 2tbsp flour and this turned out great. I made cupcakes with them and frosted with Rocks special frosting and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Taste was great. But I overbaked this cake. One minute the toothpick was 'goopy,' and literally the next minute the cake was overdone. Disappointed, since the cake took a LOT of time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,085) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States