David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rose Otero-Molina
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
I made cupcakes from this recipe, adjusted for high altitude. I'm not sure what went wrong for all of the negative reviewers, but I thought the taste and texture were both excellent. I frosted with a Nutella cream cheese frosting, and that put the cupcakes over the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
This cake was awful. I bake often and was looking for a nice yellow birthday cake recipe. I followed the directions exactly and ended up with a crumbly oily mess! Despite using parchment paper it stuck to the pan and many pieces fell off. I will not make this again! I should have listened to my instincts after I read the negative reviews... I iced it back together and it looked pretty but what an awful pain it was to put together the two layers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Turned out great! I baked 28 minutes. Made it for my husband's birthday and he loved it. I even ended up using about 1/2 cup whole grain flour since I had that mixed into my all-purpose flour. Came out soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I am SO TICKED OFF!!!! LOL Ticked off that I waited so long to try this recipe!! THE CAKE IS THE BOMB!! Listen I have tried a ton of scratch yellow cakes This one is FAR the BEST!! It has that boxed cake texture without the boxed cake taste! Its Delicious! I cant say enough about this recipe! I can tell you this i will be deleting every yellow cake recipe Iv saved I have no need for them!This is the only recipe you will need!!! It is seriously that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Wow I'd give this recipe 100 stars if I could! Have tried many recipes for yellow cake and have been disappointed every time. This is bar none the best yellow cake ever! I followed the recipe exactly except for the cream butter and sugar method. I mixed only slightly softened butter for 60 seconds before I added sugar. I never knew that you could actually over cream your butter and sugar resulting in a tough cake. Full instructions for creaming butter and sugar on crafty baking.com. Thank you sooooo much David!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
This cake is completely delicious. The only complaint i had was it came out way to dry and crumbly. I added 5 caps (yes i filled the cap) of veggie oil to the recipe, and this came out moist and delicious and yummm....used it for cupcakes with an eggless cookie dough frosting for a girls slumber party....thanks to this cake recipe I was a hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Really, really good. Very moist, followed the instructions exactly and the cake came right out of the pan cleanly which I always appreciate. I used this recipe to make a minion cake for my son's birthday and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Trancoso
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I love this recipe! Instead of frosting, I whipped some heavy cream, vanilla, & sugar and mixed it with freshly-chopped pineapple and spread the luscious mixture in between the cakes. No dryness detected! I wish i could share the picture. It's long gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Trancoso
Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I am not a baker but followed this recipe carefully. It turned out to be spectacular! I've been looking for a good classic yellow cake recipe and I've finally found one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Dougherty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I was a little nervous to try this recipe after reading many negative reviews about it tasting like dry cornbread but I followed Naples advice and this cake came out fantastic. I was very pleased that this cake turned out very moist and fluffy and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,099) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States