David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This turned out great! My daughter is allergic to soy so we can't use the mixes. I tried this out for her birthday cupcakes and paired it with a meringue buttercream frosting and I didn't want to stop eating it. I followed the recipe exactly (I may have added just a splash extra milk) and then stuck the cupcakes in the freezer overnight. I frosted them the next day and we have our new favorite cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I beat the heck out of the sugar and butter and the same every time I added each of 5 whole eggs. I even used 1cup of lite almond milk and baked it an even 30 minutes. Wonderfully moist and delicious! I topped it with this icing: box of instant pudding with 1/2 the milk and fold in 1/2 tub cool whip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debb5862
Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jean
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Sunk in the middle, so it looks like an inverted volcano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was a delicious, MOIST cake with a VERY tender crumb. I will never, ever use a boxed mix again! It is by far the best cake recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Definitely the best yellow cake recipe I have ever tried. I made this for my son's birthday and everyone commented on how good it was. I would say its important to follow standard cake making steps like adding the yolks one at a time and making sure that the butter and sugar are creamed well. I was worried when I read the review that compared it to cornbread, but there is no resemblance between the two. Thanks for contributing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have searched far and wide for the perfect yellow cake recipe and after many years if trial and error I have found this is the only one that is perfect. Don't hesitate to try out the recipe. I am so glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe bakes into a fine-textured, light, moist yellow cake. I served it with a generous dollop of Greek Gods honey yogurt. No need to frost! Delicious!! I will make this again using Egg Beaters and vegan margarine to see if a healthier version can compare favorably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipie was fenomenal, i got rave reviews on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Just made this recipe and it was AMAZING! Followed directions exactly for batter but made cupcakes. They baked for about 20 minutes. My 3 year old who usually only licks the frosting off of cake ate 2 of them before we could even frost them. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States