David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I thought this was a good cake. I topped it with Chocolate Frosting for a nice Birthday Cake. Kids and all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
This recipe was really great. My cake was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURPLEDVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
The cake came out with a great taste and a nice fine texture. It goes good with all types of frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This has become my favorite yellow cake to make. It is delicious, and can be used with any combo of fillings and frostings. My family loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I usually just use box cakes but didn't have one in the house so I tried this one. The cake was delicious and moist. The only drawback was using 8 egg yolks. It seems like a lot to use (especially if you pay for organic eggs!) But, I like the idea of my kids ingesting butter instead of loads of hydrogenated fat in the boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I needed to make a cake for my sister's bridal shower and could not find a recipe that I thought was suitable for the occasion. Then I checked my AllRecipes bookmark and found David's Yellow Cake recipe. I followed some of the advice I read in the reviews like using a little less flower. I made the cake and added strawberry filling in the middle and used a buttercream icing. It was a hit at the shower. Everyone enjoyed it. I still have the recipe taped up in my kitchen for my son's birthday. Way to go, Dave!! Someone was right, Betty Crocker doesn't have anything on this. Wish me luck on the next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
I wanted to make a REAL birthday cake--and not from a box. This is the recipe! I've made this recipe twice, and it is so moist and delicious. I frosted the cake with a simple chocolate frosting of whipping cream, confectioners sugar, and cocoa. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This cake was awesome - moist and very tasty with a good texture. The only problem I had was getting it out of the pan and that was my fault for not letting it cool long enough. I used a cooked chocolate frosting with it and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This cake was perfect!!!!! Not very moist though, but still everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This was a cake with excellent flavor: rich, buttery, and a little eggy. The color is a nice medium yellow and the consistency was a firm, moist, crumbly cake. Medium sweetness, a surprising amount of flavor. In fact, I used lemon curd and whipped cream to top it and thought next time I'd nix the lemon curd to let the cake's natural flavor come through more. Way to go, Dave. This one's going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,026) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States