David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
This cake recipe acted more more like corn bread. The flavor just isnt that good, and the texture is horrible. David should come up with a new one to replace this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
This recipe was really great. My cake was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURPLEDVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Very good.A little dry but ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
I scaled this recipe up to 48 servings for a birthday cake for my daughter's party. It was easy to make and delicious. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I thought this was a good cake. I topped it with Chocolate Frosting for a nice Birthday Cake. Kids and all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
Thought I would try this recipe in place of an old one I use for a carmel cake. This cake worked so well, especially with pecans in it. I got alot of complements on the moistness of the cake. It's now replacing the old cake recipe I normally use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
Excellent recipe. Would like to modify by using regular flour, a little less on the sugar and maybe 3 instead of four eggs. Love the texure! real homemade. My husband prefers a moister texure like box cake recipes, but only for yellow cake. The hubby and my Father-in-law enjoy yellow cake with a whipped cream frosting. I love it just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I usually just use box cakes but didn't have one in the house so I tried this one. The cake was delicious and moist. The only drawback was using 8 egg yolks. It seems like a lot to use (especially if you pay for organic eggs!) But, I like the idea of my kids ingesting butter instead of loads of hydrogenated fat in the boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This has become my favorite yellow cake to make. It is delicious, and can be used with any combo of fillings and frostings. My family loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
delicious and fluffy but it can be a little dry. i add a bit more milk and a couple of more egg yolks. Also instead of cake flour i used regular flour since and added a bit more baking powder and salt. This is the best yellow cake so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States