David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have been baking for over 30 years. I have tried many yellow cake recipes and this will replace all of them. The cake was perfect, very moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I have tried a few yellow cake recipes but THIS ONE IS THE BEST!! I usually make cupcakes and this recipe was PERFECT!! I took the advice of some of the others that commented on this recipe and I beat the butter and sugar for approximately 6-8 minutes. I also used 4 whole eggs as opposed to 8 egg yolks and the only difference was the color (much lighter shade of yellow). The cupcakes were VERY moist. I used variation of chocolate, butter cream and cream cheese frostings and they all complimented the cup cakes. I also put a squirt of cream cheese filling In the middle.Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe! "DESERT DESSERTS"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Foolproof and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have cake flour so substituted 3/4c all purpose flour and 2T corn starch. Followed advice and made sure and beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Made this for my hubby for his birthday and it was AMAZING!!! Neither of us had ever had non boxed yellow cake before.... And considering yellow cake is his favorite.... This will be made every year for his birthday :) It was very moist and flavorful. I didn't have cake flour so I reduced the flour by 4tbsp (2 per cup) and all turned out well. This will def be my go to cake for parties and what not.... So glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a perfect foil for chocolate icing or strawberries and cream. It's very important to follow the instructions exactly and be VERY careful not to overcook. I agree with the reviewer who said that this cake overbaked has the consistency of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I slightly over baked at had a donut like taste/texture. It was good, but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a delicious, moist, classic, homemade cake similar to that which you would find in really old (hard to find these days) church collection recipe books. It's a home baked cake not a box mix, so it's going to taste real, it's quite amazing and my husband loved it...he's from Germany and knows real baking. This is my go to cake recipe. Take your time and do it right, follow it to the T and don't worry about it, it will work out...love this! All these changes, lol..chill ladies it's a fine cake the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great recipe, delicious cake, way better than anything from a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was pretty much a fail. The cake completely fell. The taste of the cake was great, but for some reason it fell. We baked a chocolate cake in the other oven while this one was baking, and that came out perfect. Not likely to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,045) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States