David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I make this cake all time and never has it come out as cornbread...Follow the directions and bake for 25 in a PREHEATED oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I tried several different recipes and this is by far the best! Followed directions directly and it was tasty and moist. I am even at 5400 feet altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I am never making boxed cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Amazing! I made as directed into cupcakes for a birthday party, everyone loved them. Better than Wegmans bakery, which is saving a lot. I topped them with a popular buttercream from this site. Thanks for my new favored cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
DOES DAVID HAVE OTHER RECIPE's??? LOL! I've been baking professionally for years, this by far is my new recipe. I double the recipe and make three fluffy tiers. its perfect! Its fluffy, moist and tasty. I use 1/2 tsp of vanilla nut extract, 2 tsp of butter eXtract and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Sounds like a like but the combo of those flavors are signature and not overwhelming. The butter extract adds a rich buttery flavor. i make Swiss Merigne Buttercream with all the leftover egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
We made this for a large group dinner and it was fabulous! Topped with chocolate frosting made it a classic flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as it was written and I was very disappointed. Even after greasing and flouring the pan, the cake stuck to the pan and the texture was bread like. The taste was OK. I would not make it again without a lot of modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candles430
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
No changes were made at all! This cakes was fabulous as is! Thank you David! If using a darker coated pan reduce to 325 and start checking for doneness at 25-27 minutes...(my bottom layer was a bit browner however still same moistness because I forgot you are supposed to account for the dark coated pan. My top layer came out perfect when I adjusted the temp...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
It came out really dense and did taste like cornbread in a weird way. It didn't taste like yellow cake I am just guessing but I think its because of the amount of eggs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriela
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
The only thing I would add is vanilla sugar, gives it a nice taste. But everyone went crazy over this recipe. So simple and tasty... Very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,046) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States