David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as it was written and I was very disappointed. Even after greasing and flouring the pan, the cake stuck to the pan and the texture was bread like. The taste was OK. I would not make it again without a lot of modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candles430
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
No changes were made at all! This cakes was fabulous as is! Thank you David! If using a darker coated pan reduce to 325 and start checking for doneness at 25-27 minutes...(my bottom layer was a bit browner however still same moistness because I forgot you are supposed to account for the dark coated pan. My top layer came out perfect when I adjusted the temp...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
It came out really dense and did taste like cornbread in a weird way. It didn't taste like yellow cake I am just guessing but I think its because of the amount of eggs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriela
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
The only thing I would add is vanilla sugar, gives it a nice taste. But everyone went crazy over this recipe. So simple and tasty... Very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Just made this last night for an ice cream cake I am making for my son. Being pregnant, I decided to sample a chunk, as who could resist, and omg. The cake practically melted in my mouth it was so moist and delicious. Hope it doesn't dry out in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a very tasty cake! I followed the directions exactly, I just added a couple tablespoons more milk. As long as you follow the directions exactly you will have a delicious MOIST cake. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a wonderful yellow cake recipe. My family raved about it and this my go to yellow cake recipe. Before I made this I had only had box mix yellow cake and didn't really like it because the flavor was so blah. Not this recipe! I followed the directions exactly and watched the timing closely. It came out moist, rich and flavorful. Definitely not cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Followed directions turned out wonderful! I did make a mistake by using a dark pan and not adjusting the heat down a bit. SO thats on me. It came out a bit dryer than I would have liked but like I said, on me. Its IMPORTANT to use cake flour and NOT OVER BEAT!! Good job David!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I love this cake recipe. My friend and I made it, and it was DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I'm usually a scratch pound cake person, but I decided I needed to branch out and do something I little different. So, I selected this for a birthday cake and it was great. I'm not a pro baker by any means so I followed the receipe exactly and took the most common advise I saw in the comments and it turned out great! I think I left it in the oven a couple minutes too long, but that's user error, not the receipe. This will become a permanent recipe I'll use going forward. TRY IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States