David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Made this tonight. In a 6 inch pan for a cake. Batter is great and the overall taste of the cake came out great! It took about 45 mins and yet it sunk in the middle. Not sure why. Maybe I'll do 6-7 egg yolks instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe is exquisite! The best yellow cake I've had- hands down. I made it for my fiance's birthday and he hasn't stopped raving. I didn't have enough eggs so I used 4 whole eggs instead of 8 yolks- worked out great. Moist and fluffy and so flavorful- even at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I was looking for a yellow cake because another recipe I wanted to use called for a boxed mix and I really hate those. So while making a "honey bun" cake I used this recipe and it made a fantastically moist and light cake . This is my go to base recipe from now on! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Kimble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This recipe was so delicious. I'm a frosting kind of girl. I could eat spoonfuls of frosting and just leave the cake. Not with this cake! I haven't even frosted it yet, but I tried a little bit of the cake by itself. I could eat the whole thing by itself-even sans frosting! It didn't turn out dry at all. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This Cake was AMAZING!!! ITS the best! i read most of the other reviews and made some changes. 1) i sifted the flour mixture twice 2) instead of 8 yolks i used 3 eggs (whites and yolks ) and added 2 yolks so i only needed 5 eggs instead 8. 3)i mixed the flour and milk in 3 additions starting and ending with the flour. 4) i didn't have any cake flour so i minuses per cup 2 table spoons of flour and added 2 tbsp of corn flour the cake was amazing and i even made cupcakes with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I own the Wilton teddy bear cake pan. I searched for a recipe for it. I found lots of decoration tips and instruction but no recipe for a cake. I found a table for how much cake batter to use: enough for two 8 in pans. So, I tried this recipe. I cooked for 30 min because the middle was quite soft. I also used the convection feature after 20 min. It came out great. Followed the recipe just as written. Tastes great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I love this recipe. The only thing I changed was the amount of eggs. I added 4 large eggs instead of 8 egg yolks. It turned out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Made this cake yesterday for our anniversary. ..it was amazing! Thick without being too dense, chewy without being too spongy and very, very moist. If yours turned out like cornbread, IDK what you're doing wrong but I followed recipe exactly and cake was great. Used canned frosting to save a step...next time, I'll make my own, this cake deserves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaneadsha Jones
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this cake 3x now in the past three weeks, it taste just like the one my mom used to make it was devoured in days. This is cake number 4. Just great thanks for the recipe. I can say that I'm not a baker and I messed up two cakes before this one I decided to hand mix and the results were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaneadsha Jones

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theghettigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This cake was amazing both with and without frosting! It disappeared too quickly to get a picture of the inside! I made cream cheese frosting for the crumb coat, and mixed some with chopped fresh strawberries for the inside filling. Then made cream cheese buttercream frosting for the outside (so it would taste like cream cheese frosting, but still keep its form when piping). I made a strawberry glaze for the top with sliced strawberries. Was so good I'm making one for a friend for their holiday dinner, AND one for our holiday dinner! This is a recipe that will be written in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,076) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States